Author Topic: Avast Internet Security Firewall always reverts back to PUBLIC profile  (Read 1892 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline it305

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Hi there,

Been having this issue for the longest time now, how come the Avast Internet Security Firewall always reverts back user network profiles from PRIVATE to PUBLIC from unknown reasons, even if we specifically set it to PRIVATE every time, it will one day find its way to PUBLIC again?! Is there any permanent fix or solution for this issue?!

We are on a network, switches, go thru by lan networks, using also windows 10 most of our pc's.

Anyone can shed light would be really much appreciated!

thanks in advance.

Cheers.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 63734
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Internet Security Firewall always reverts back to PUBLIC profile
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2019, 09:45:33 AM »
Which version of AIS..?
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.2.2401.BUC [UI.505] - CC 5.65 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.7 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.6 - ASB/ASL.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline it305

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Now using 19.2.2364, and we are still experiencing it up to now, ever since we started using AIS 3-4 years ago, its been like that ever since...FYI!

thanks,

it305

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 63734
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Hi, uncheck "Enable automatic profile switching" in Avast GA (Geek Area).
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.2.2401.BUC [UI.505] - CC 5.65 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.7 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.6 - ASB/ASL.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline it305

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Hi there,

That's weird don't seem to have GEEK AREA with my AIS Version, even the firewall settings in my version don't have this feature to untick automatic profile switching...

thanks,

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 63734
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Hi, this short video from Bob should help: https://youtu.be/_EAln7j2Rfg
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.2.2401.BUC [UI.505] - CC 5.65 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.7 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.6 - ASB/ASL.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline it305

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Hi there,

Thanks for the tip on the GEEK AREA, but unfortunately automatic profile switching was already off when I looked into it(remembered I off it with the previous version of AIS when you can easily untick those parameters before), but still it reverted to PUBLIC profile just recently...please advise?!

thanks in advance.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 63734
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.2.2401.BUC [UI.505] - CC 5.65 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.7 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.6 - ASB/ASL.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82753
  • No support PMs thanks
Hi, uncheck "Enable automatic profile switching" in Avast GA (Geek Area).

I think Avast certainly needs to consider what settings are hidden in there.  We are constantly advising people in the forums to switch to the Private profile.  With the 'Enable automatic profile switching' if this is a default setting, there are likely to be more users asking this same question.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.565) UI-1.0.502/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline it305

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
But even if its turned off and you have switched to PRIVATE profile setting, it will still revert back to PUBLIC in the long run, you'll just wonder one day why you can't connect to the internet or to your local network, then find out that your profile was switched back to PUBLIC, its a freaking endless loop! Been switching all of our PCs back to PRIVATE for more than 4 yrs already, since the inception of this Firewall inside AIS! Haha....

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 63734
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Internet Security Firewall always reverts back to PUBLIC profile
« Reply #10 on: March 01, 2019, 11:24:07 AM »
But even if its turned off and you have switched to PRIVATE profile setting, it will still revert back to PUBLIC in the long run...
Well, I can't confirm your issue, it doesn't happen here. Might be related to your setup/connection/etc.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.2.2401.BUC [UI.505] - CC 5.65 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.7 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.6 - ASB/ASL.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5413
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Avast Internet Security Firewall always reverts back to PUBLIC profile
« Reply #11 on: March 01, 2019, 04:05:18 PM »
Hi, uncheck "Enable automatic profile switching" in Avast GA (Geek Area).

I think Avast certainly needs to consider what settings are hidden in there.  We are constantly advising people in the forums to switch to the Private profile.  With the 'Enable automatic profile switching' if this is a default setting, there are likely to be more users asking this same question.
@DavidR,
Default is Public, yes.  Hiding it inside the GeeK Area certainly doesn't help.
But even if its turned off and you have switched to PRIVATE profile setting, it will still revert back to PUBLIC in the long run...
Well, I can't confirm your issue, it doesn't happen here. Might be related to your setup/connection/etc.
@ it305 & Asyn.
I have the network set to Private and also set to notify that it is private; works fine here.  Reason for that setting being on is because the default setting is set to PUBLIC, not PRIVATE, and I want to know when it changes, if ever, to the default setting.
 
This would imply that the network comes online as PUBLIC at first.  I'm running an Actiontec router.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.559) UI version 1.0.460.