Author Topic: Have 2 VPN's 1 New & 1 Old  (Read 1213 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xairedale

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Have 2 VPN's 1 New & 1 Old
« on: February 15, 2019, 12:28:53 PM »
After installing AVAST VPN SECURELINE (YEARLY RENEWAL) 07 Feb 2019 good to 07 Feb 2020 on said date. A Windows 10 update was Automatically installed yesterday 14 Feb 2019.
 Upon restart it had Two (2) SecureLine VPN's in the Taskbar;

OLD Avast SecureLine VPN & the New Avast SecureLine both were in the Taskbar.
Each time I engaged the Old SecureLine, the New Avast SecureLine said that there was a Connection Problem. So I reversed the order & the Result was the Same message, Connection Problem.

I'm Only allowed to Attach 4 Attachments in this post, so Please Help.



Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70052
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Have 2 VPN's 1 New & 1 Old
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2019, 12:55:01 PM »
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.3.2459.BUC [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline xairedale

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Have 2 VPN's 1 New & 1 Old
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2019, 04:36:04 PM »
I'm sorry Asyn, but being a Newbie to this Forum I don't know what to look for after clicking on the link you provided.

Are you subtly telling Me that this is where I should have posted the Question in the First Place?

After clicking on the link provided, (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=80.0), I see nothing related to My Question.

The only thing I See is that it's the SecureLine Forum.


Offline Cluster-Lizard2014

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
Re: Have 2 VPN's 1 New & 1 Old
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2019, 06:07:13 PM »
Yes, rather than answering the questions and helping you resolve the issue he is indeed implying that's where this question should have been posted. He does have a point, those forums are dedicated to VPN and Secureline matters.

But you're a newbie so, first of all welcome and although it means nothing as I'm just an ordinary AVAST user too, I'll forgive you for the heinous crime of posting in the wrong forum. :)

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45154
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Have 2 VPN's 1 New & 1 Old
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2019, 08:57:34 PM »
@ Cluster,
There are certainly more polite ways to get you message across.  :(


@ xairedal,
Do you have 2 installs of SecureLIne ??? One as part of Avast and a second one as a stand alone version ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline xairedale

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Have 2 VPN's 1 New & 1 Old
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2019, 09:19:14 PM »
Yes, well make that answer No, its only from 1 source, iTunes via Apple.Com.

Please disregard the Date of 06 February 2018 on the 1st. attachment, please see / Look at the 3rd attachment.


Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45154
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Have 2 VPN's 1 New & 1 Old
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2019, 09:28:10 PM »
Unfortunately I don't know anything ab out Mac computers
So unless someone on here can give you  more information,
you will most likely be better off postin in the forum for your product,
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=81.0
Sorry I can't be of more help.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline xairedale

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Have 2 VPN's 1 New & 1 Old
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2019, 01:51:21 AM »
I'm sorry bob3160, but I'm running Windows 10 Home Edition 64 bit on this Acer Touch Laptop.
I believe when I posted a Pic showing iTunes & Apple Old Receipt that you thought I was saying that I had a Mac Computer / Laptop.
 I tried uninstalling the last Automatic Windows update (KB4487017), But when the Laptop restarted, it went & added the Windows update I just removed, (I Think  ??? :o 8))
 
 It looks like I might have to post this directly to Avast Support & see if they have an answer for Me as to why this is happening to Me, seeing the Old VPN along with the New.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45154
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Have 2 VPN's 1 New & 1 Old
« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2019, 12:45:08 PM »
Try this.
Open the Avast User Interface then go to Menu > Settings > Troubleshooting >
Select Add Modify Components. If you have the VPN (Avast SecureLine) listed, select to uninstall it.
Restart the computer when asked.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline xairedale

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Have 2 VPN's 1 New & 1 Old
« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2019, 05:11:26 PM »
 I did this instead Bob3160,

 Went to the SecureLine VPN App  & Avast SecureLine icons (were showing up in the Taskbar) & on that
SL VPN App  Clicked on the Settings Gear icon and Turned OFF both SecureLine Commands to Show; Connected to Unsecured Wi-Fi Networks + Show SecureLine in the Windows Notification area.


It seems to have done the Trick  ;) 8)

Thanks once again Bob3160

Offline xairedale

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Have 2 VPN's 1 New & 1 Old
« Reply #10 on: February 16, 2019, 05:21:37 PM »
Yes, rather than answering the questions and helping you resolve the issue he is indeed implying that's where this question should have been posted. He does have a point, those forums are dedicated to VPN and Secureline matters.

But you're a newbie so, first of all welcome and although it means nothing as I'm just an ordinary AVAST user too, I'll forgive you for the heinous crime of posting in the wrong forum. :)

 Cluster-Lizard2014 :) ;D :D
I accept your Detailed Explanation of the Heinous act of posting in the wrong forum.  ;D 8)