Author Topic: Avast status symbol  (Read 2667 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rocksteady

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 501
Re: Avast status symbol
« Reply #15 on: January 23, 2020, 10:08:25 AM »
For what it's worth, mine has changed from shield to circle this morning, That was from a soft startup, not a full "Restart".
Like DavidR, I prefer the shield over circle design, but seems trivial change. UI v1.0.440.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82708
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast status symbol
« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2020, 10:14:33 AM »
And an update (or rather the version/build and UI version have been updated.  Why isn't this communicated to the user I don't know and I would have to suggest that they also inform users why a reboot is required.
Hi Dave, as you seem to be interested, I usually post updates (build/UI) in the German section.

Stable: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=229463.0
Beta: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=229927.0

Thanks, I will book mark it.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.558) UI-1.0.460/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 63565
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast status symbol
« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2020, 11:08:23 AM »
You're welcome Dave. (Side note, links will change with program updates.)
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.2.2401.Beta#4 [UI.502] - CC 5.65 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.6 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.6 - ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82708
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast status symbol
« Reply #18 on: January 23, 2020, 04:43:36 PM »
You're welcome Dave. (Side note, links will change with program updates.)

I took that as a given, perhaps you can add the link to the new topic for the program update (in the existing topic), unless it were to become a sticky.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.558) UI-1.0.460/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Pierogi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Avast status symbol
« Reply #19 on: January 24, 2020, 01:52:17 AM »
My icon is still a shield. UI version here is still 1.0.437, no updates available by now.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 63565
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast status symbol
« Reply #20 on: January 24, 2020, 09:08:58 AM »
My icon is still a shield. UI version here is still 1.0.437, no updates available by now.
Reboot.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.2.2401.Beta#4 [UI.502] - CC 5.65 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.6 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.6 - ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Pierogi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Avast status symbol
« Reply #21 on: January 24, 2020, 01:01:12 PM »
My icon is still a shield. UI version here is still 1.0.437, no updates available by now.
Reboot.

What do you mean by "reboot"?

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 10967
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Avast status symbol
« Reply #22 on: January 24, 2020, 01:03:38 PM »
What do you mean by "reboot"?
Restart your computer.

Offline Pierogi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Avast status symbol
« Reply #23 on: January 24, 2020, 01:10:30 PM »
What do you mean by "reboot"?
Restart your computer.

I thought it was related to the program itself, but i'm doing it few times every day.

Offline Ilie I.

  • Got rogue
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: Avast status symbol
« Reply #24 on: January 26, 2020, 09:00:54 PM »
At me it's still with the shield ones :/
3 reboots, nothing happened.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82708
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast status symbol
« Reply #25 on: January 26, 2020, 09:25:03 PM »
At me it's still with the shield ones :/
3 reboots, nothing happened.

You still have the old UI version, 1.0.437 according to your 3rd image attachment, the latest UI version is 1.0.440.

Try a manual Program Update and follow that with a system restart.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.558) UI-1.0.460/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Ilie I.

  • Got rogue
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: Avast status symbol
« Reply #26 on: January 27, 2020, 11:01:28 AM »
I also tried that.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82708
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast status symbol
« Reply #27 on: January 27, 2020, 04:52:02 PM »
I also tried that.

Not sure why you haven't got it then.

Personally if that is all there is in the new UI (which I doubt) you aren't missing much then, and a UI bug that effects lots of people still isn't resolved.  I refer to the different reported VPS versions if you use the avast tray icon About Avast and the avast UI > Settings > General > Update.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.558) UI-1.0.460/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43102
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast status symbol
« Reply #28 on: January 27, 2020, 06:57:08 PM »
I also tried that.
Have you actually re-started your computer or, did you just shut off and the start it back up?
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq