Author Topic: Disabling Avast Shields for 10 minutes kills RDP session  (Read 1213 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rochelley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Disabling Avast Shields for 10 minutes kills RDP session
« on: February 06, 2020, 11:18:45 PM »
I am remoted into a host machine (using RDP on Windows 10 Pro) where I need to update some software which requires Avast Shields to be temporarily disabled.  As soon as I disable the shields the remote session becomes unresponsive.  Not only that, but I can't login to the remote machine again until the ten minutes passes, as Avast seems to be locking it up for that period of time.  I've done a lot of searches, tried changing some settings in Avast, but to no avail.  Why will Avast not let me disable the shields temporarily during an RDP session?  And what might be the fix for this?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43846
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Disabling Avast Shields for 10 minutes kills RDP session
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2020, 10:37:19 PM »
You didn't mention which program you're using for RDP.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Michael (alan1998)

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2775
  • Volunteer
Re: Disabling Avast Shields for 10 minutes kills RDP session
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2020, 11:26:09 PM »
You didn't mention which program you're using for RDP.

RDP is built into Windows and is proprietary to Windows. There is no other application aside from Remote Desktop. There are applications like RDP (Teamviewer, VNC, Bomgar), but they're not RDP. They use their own protocols for connections.

It is an interesting problem though. This *may* be default behaviour. What version of Avast are you using?
*Volunteer*.
Tier I SOC Analyst; Threat Hunter; Digital Forensics (no cert); HTB Competitor; Pentester (no cert).

4th Year BCS Student.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43846
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Disabling Avast Shields for 10 minutes kills RDP session
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2020, 11:28:58 PM »
You didn't mention which program you're using for RDP.

RDP is built into Windows and is proprietary to Windows. There is no other application aside from Remote Desktop. There are applications like RDP (Teamviewer, VNC, Bomgar), but they're not RDP. They use their own protocols for connections.

It is an interesting problem though. This *may* be default behaviour. What version of Avast are you using?
Are we talking about Quick Assist?
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Michael (alan1998)

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2775
  • Volunteer
Re: Disabling Avast Shields for 10 minutes kills RDP session
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2020, 11:45:40 PM »
You didn't mention which program you're using for RDP.

RDP is built into Windows and is proprietary to Windows. There is no other application aside from Remote Desktop. There are applications like RDP (Teamviewer, VNC, Bomgar), but they're not RDP. They use their own protocols for connections.

It is an interesting problem though. This *may* be default behaviour. What version of Avast are you using?
Are we talking about Quick Assist?

OP is more then welcome to correct me obviously, but I suspect given the term usage "host" that he works in IT. The host in this case is likely some kind of server or workstation (as evidence by the "Pro" version), which would likely be using RDC (Remote Desktop Connection), not Quick Assist. Q.A was designed for end users to get help from a mate. Partial control over the remote system, nothing more. It's worth noting that "home" users do not have access to Remote Desktop Connection. People using Enterprise/Pro/Education/Server versions of Windows do have access to it.

Remote Desktop Connection was built more or less for Sys Admins who (for example) need to manage servers with unlimited control. That server may not have a display or input devices. If you've ever been in a datacenter with one of those carts they push around... That's what it's being used for, "remote desktop connection".

I do need to revise my previous statement though. RDP is a protocol designed by Microsoft and used by Microsoft. Both Quick Assist and Remote Desktop Connection are the only two applications who use it.

https://askleo.com/whats-the-difference-between-remote-desktop-and-remote-assistance/
*Volunteer*.
Tier I SOC Analyst; Threat Hunter; Digital Forensics (no cert); HTB Competitor; Pentester (no cert).

4th Year BCS Student.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43846
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Disabling Avast Shields for 10 minutes kills RDP session
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2020, 11:49:21 PM »
If this is a question about a Business product,
it should probably be asked here, https://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=77.0
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Michael (alan1998)

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2775
  • Volunteer
*Volunteer*.
Tier I SOC Analyst; Threat Hunter; Digital Forensics (no cert); HTB Competitor; Pentester (no cert).

4th Year BCS Student.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43846
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Michael (alan1998)

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2775
  • Volunteer
*Volunteer*.
Tier I SOC Analyst; Threat Hunter; Digital Forensics (no cert); HTB Competitor; Pentester (no cert).

4th Year BCS Student.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43846
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Disabling Avast Shields for 10 minutes kills RDP session
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2020, 02:53:22 PM »
See this thread; https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=228145.15
That thread doesn't offer a fix.

Reply #20 would be a good step I'd argue.
Reply 21 suggests installing the beta version but doesn't state that that fixes the problem.
There's also been no confirmation from the user as to the effect of installing the beta version.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq