Author Topic: Trying to resolve windows errors, W10-Home, Avast Premium Security  (Read 3584 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jimbo93

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Howdy. The computer is an older Asus laptop (nice gamer rig) and the OS is as stated but was originally windows 7 Home Premium. Had a few issues after the upgrade that are all resolved except for one. On most boot-ups windows error reporting springs into action thereby slowing the computer down and it reports a problem with the anti-virus config. Now I have scoured all the event logs and troubleshot this to death, including uninstall/reinstall of Avast after all the other windows repair efforts. The error reports, as shown in the application event log, look like this one for "HardeningTelemetryDisableAV" and a similar one at same time "HardeningTelemetryDisableAS":

--------------------------------------------
EVENT 1001, Windows Error Reporting

Fault bucket , type 0
Event Name: MpTelemetry
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: unspecified
P2: HardeningTelemetry
P3: HardeningTelemetryDisableAV
P4: 4.18.1911.3
P5: unspecified
P6: unspecified
P7: unspecified
P8:
P9:
P10:

Attached files:
\\?\C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\MPTelemetrySubmit\client_manifest.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERA1D4.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERA213.tmp.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERA629.tmp.csv
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERA668.tmp.txt

These files may be available here:
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\NonCritical_unspecified_7c7b5c99866c99dcc9b2d9908c26181e10447d5d_00000000_cab_b225c1b7-325e-4bb6-9695-fe1162cfd570

Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report Id: b225c1b7-325e-4bb6-9695-fe1162cfd570
Report Status: 4
Hashed bucket:
Cab Guid: 0
-----------------------------------
Now there is also a less frequent error that looks like this:

------------------------------------
EVENT 1001, Windows Error Reporting

Fault bucket , type 0
Event Name: WindowsWcpStoreCorruption
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: 10.0.18362.590:1
P2: MissingWinningComponentKey
P3: amd64_avast.vc140.crt_fcc99ee6193ebbca_14.0.27821.0_none_5b87bb4915fad71f
P4:
P5:
P6:
P7:
P8:
P9:
P10:

Attached files:
\\?\C:\WINDOWS\Logs\CBS\CBS.log
\\?\C:\WINDOWS\Logs\CBS\CbsPersist_20200211093124.cab
\\?\C:\WINDOWS\Logs\CBS\CbsPersist_20200205042234.cab
\\?\C:\WINDOWS\servicing\Sessions\Sessions.xml
\\?\C:\WINDOWS\Logs\Cbs\FilterList.log
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER1B35.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER1B56.tmp.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER1B83.tmp.csv
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER1BB3.tmp.txt
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER1BE3.tmp.mdmp
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\Critical_10.0.18362.590_1_5436523f46c231cca090957d244373f983630c4_00000000_cab_0e5752b7-6cdb-4af3-95e1-ee9cae38c231\memory.hdmp
\\?\C:\Windows\Temp\WER1EE2.tmp.WERDataCollectionStatus.txt

These files may be available here:
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\Critical_10.0.18362.590_1_5436523f46c231cca090957d244373f983630c4_00000000_cab_0e5752b7-6cdb-4af3-95e1-ee9cae38c231

Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report Id: 0e5752b7-6cdb-4af3-95e1-ee9cae38c231
Report Status: 4
Hashed bucket:
Cab Guid: 0

---------------------------------------

Additional info: Anti-virus protection with Avast is enabled and working when these errors occur. I have run dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth and sfc /scannow more than once and it doesn't fix the issue. I thought I had it resolved after a reinstallof Avast but disabling the Avast shields temporarily brought it right back once Avast shields were back on. Windows Defender is up to date, windows 10 is up to date (version 1909). Defender kicks in automagically when Avast is disabled or uninstalled.

I have uninstalled Avast again and am looking for suggestions/help before installing it again. I really don't want the computer spitting out error reports every time its booted.

Thanks in advance

Jim
ASUS G73Sw, i7-2630QM, 8GB Ram, GeForce GTX 460M, Windows 10 Home version 1909 build 18363.836
Avast Premium Security 20.4.2410 (build 20.4.5312.576)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71800
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Trying to resolve windows errors, W10-Home, Avast Premium Security
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2020, 11:26:06 AM »
- Which version of APS..?
- OS..? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP/Build..?)
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.8.6586.IBC [UI.666] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.14 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 93.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.84
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45977
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Trying to resolve windows errors, W10-Home, Avast Premium Security
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2020, 01:40:04 PM »
Did you uninstall Avast or, did you totally remove Avast?

Clean Install of Avast:
https://goo.gl/4Ptzkf
If you need additional help with the Clean Install, watch this:
https://youtu.be/p-h3myRD51A

If you had another AV besides Defender, the following may also need to be done,
How to Successfully Install Avast -> http://goo.gl/VLXde

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Jimbo93

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Trying to resolve windows errors, W10-Home, Avast Premium Security
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2020, 03:16:44 PM »
- Which version of APS..?
- OS..? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP/Build..?)
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?

APS: 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4257.552)
UI Version 1.0455

64 bit OS
Windows 10 Home
Version 1909
Build 18363.657

First AV years ago was Vipre. Changed to Avast Free. 4 months ago I purchased APS and installed using the online installer.

ASUS G73Sw, i7-2630QM, 8GB Ram, GeForce GTX 460M, Windows 10 Home version 1909 build 18363.836
Avast Premium Security 20.4.2410 (build 20.4.5312.576)

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45977
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Trying to resolve windows errors, W10-Home, Avast Premium Security
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2020, 03:24:21 PM »
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Jimbo93

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Trying to resolve windows errors, W10-Home, Avast Premium Security
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2020, 03:32:09 PM »
Did you uninstall Avast or, did you totally remove Avast?

Clean Install of Avast:
https://goo.gl/4Ptzkf
If you need additional help with the Clean Install, watch this:
https://youtu.be/p-h3myRD51A

If you had another AV besides Defender, the following may also need to be done,
How to Successfully Install Avast -> http://goo.gl/VLXde

I had not used an avast removal tool before IIRC. But I did use it after this last uninstall.

Update: I went ahead and reinstalled avast last night (so that would be a clean install) and the problem is back.

B4 that, I even ran the removal tool twice in safe mode and told it to remove APS and the free version.

After this last clean reinstall and seeing the problem I decided to try full disk optimization. So I ran Ultradefrag in safe mode while I slept. I also shut off windows fast startup and then powercfg -h off. One thing about this windows 10 is its startup characteristics are a bit different then win 7. And this problem seems like a startup problem. No joy yet.
ASUS G73Sw, i7-2630QM, 8GB Ram, GeForce GTX 460M, Windows 10 Home version 1909 build 18363.836
Avast Premium Security 20.4.2410 (build 20.4.5312.576)

Offline Jimbo93

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Trying to resolve windows errors, W10-Home, Avast Premium Security
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2020, 03:34:37 PM »
For Viper to be fully removed, please see the following: https://success.solarwindsmsp.com/kb/solarwinds_rmm/Where-do-I-obtain-the-Vipre-Removal-Tool

Ill give it a shot, but seems like a long shot. thanks
ASUS G73Sw, i7-2630QM, 8GB Ram, GeForce GTX 460M, Windows 10 Home version 1909 build 18363.836
Avast Premium Security 20.4.2410 (build 20.4.5312.576)

Offline Jimbo93

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Trying to resolve windows errors, W10-Home, Avast Premium Security
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2020, 04:41:11 AM »
I have contacted Avast Premium tech support, this one wore me down, lol. Just waiting for an email.
ASUS G73Sw, i7-2630QM, 8GB Ram, GeForce GTX 460M, Windows 10 Home version 1909 build 18363.836
Avast Premium Security 20.4.2410 (build 20.4.5312.576)

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45977
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Trying to resolve windows errors, W10-Home, Avast Premium Security
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2020, 09:53:46 AM »
I have contacted Avast Premium tech support, this one wore me down, lol. Just waiting for an email.
I'd be interested to find out what finally solves your problem. Thanks and good luck.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Jimbo93

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Trying to resolve windows errors, W10-Home, Avast Premium Security
« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2020, 03:26:52 PM »
I have contacted Avast Premium tech support, this one wore me down, lol. Just waiting for an email.
I'd be interested to find out what finally solves your problem. Thanks and good luck.

I allowed a tech to remote in for a diagnosis. He disabled 2 scheduled tasks as a workaround: Avast EM Update and Avast Overseer. I pressed them for a better solution and it was raised to level 2 which means I'll be contacted by email. The workaround did stop the windows error reports and Avast shows it is still providing protection. My concern is that there is probably a hole in the protection at startup. I will post back when I know more.
ASUS G73Sw, i7-2630QM, 8GB Ram, GeForce GTX 460M, Windows 10 Home version 1909 build 18363.836
Avast Premium Security 20.4.2410 (build 20.4.5312.576)

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45977
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Trying to resolve windows errors, W10-Home, Avast Premium Security
« Reply #10 on: February 14, 2020, 04:30:49 PM »
I have contacted Avast Premium tech support, this one wore me down, lol. Just waiting for an email.
I'd be interested to find out what finally solves your problem. Thanks and good luck.

I allowed a tech to remote in for a diagnosis. He disabled 2 scheduled tasks as a workaround: Avast EM Update and Avast Overseer. I pressed them for a better solution and it was raised to level 2 which means I'll be contacted by email. The workaround did stop the windows error reports and Avast shows it is still providing protection. My concern is that there is probably a hole in the protection at startup. I will post back when I know more.
Premium Tech is third party support.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Jimbo93

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Trying to resolve windows errors, W10-Home, Avast Premium Security
« Reply #11 on: February 16, 2020, 01:00:27 AM »
I have contacted Avast Premium tech support, this one wore me down, lol. Just waiting for an email.
I'd be interested to find out what finally solves your problem. Thanks and good luck.

I allowed a tech to remote in for a diagnosis. He disabled 2 scheduled tasks as a workaround: Avast EM Update and Avast Overseer. I pressed them for a better solution and it was raised to level 2 which means I'll be contacted by email. The workaround did stop the windows error reports and Avast shows it is still providing protection. My concern is that there is probably a hole in the protection at startup. I will post back when I know more.
Premium Tech is third party support.

So I think its resolved. Did I mention I get impatient with computer issues? The steps I used:

Uninstalled Avast premium security.
Ran the Avast Clean program in safe mode.
Ran Tweaking.com Windows repair all repairs.
Re-installed avast premium with computer offline.
Connect to internet.
Opened the avastui and activated it. It acted a little weird, like a hang of some process.
Rebooted a couple times.
Ran Avast repair from the troubleshooting options.
Rebooted. No errors logged.

Also the windows security icon is now staying in the tray with a green flag. When I was getting the error reports before, it appear in the tray with a warning flag on startup that then turns green and then it disappears.
ASUS G73Sw, i7-2630QM, 8GB Ram, GeForce GTX 460M, Windows 10 Home version 1909 build 18363.836
Avast Premium Security 20.4.2410 (build 20.4.5312.576)

Offline Jimbo93

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Trying to resolve windows errors, W10-Home, Avast Premium Security
« Reply #12 on: February 16, 2020, 02:21:19 AM »
Nah. Came right back again. My guess is there is an incompatibility with the latest version of windows 10. If that not the case then I could try a upgrade install of windows to fix any hidden issues. Id rather not though.
ASUS G73Sw, i7-2630QM, 8GB Ram, GeForce GTX 460M, Windows 10 Home version 1909 build 18363.836
Avast Premium Security 20.4.2410 (build 20.4.5312.576)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71800
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Trying to resolve windows errors, W10-Home, Avast Premium Security
« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2020, 07:13:38 AM »
You could try the latest beta: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=15
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.8.6586.IBC [UI.666] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.14 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 93.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.84
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline rocksteady

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1178
Re: Trying to resolve windows errors, W10-Home, Avast Premium Security
« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2020, 11:41:52 AM »
Long shot, wondering if you have some connectivity issue.
Are you using Avast Firewall?
Is it set to "Private" (not "Public" which is more limited)?

Also have you seen this issue with recent Win10 update:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=156141.msg1536022#msg1536022

« Last Edit: February 16, 2020, 11:54:00 AM by rocksteady »