Author Topic: Avast secure browser keeps opening new help TABS making it impossible to use  (Read 3613 times)

Offline Glenn102

Can anyone help with a very anoying problem or maybe its a virus that Avast can not detect. When ever I use either Avast Secure Browser or Microsoft Edge on windows 10 on this Toshiba PC they are impossible to use, Tabs keep opening on their own and the screen changes to that tab, this keeps happening multiple times / minute making surfing impossible if it is a virus it is triggered sometimes by typing something in or outside the browser, exampe opening Note pad can trigger it. I keep closing the new tabs to get back to the original page but after a short time a new tab or two or three will open. It is performing like a virus and apears inteligent because it will stop for a short while maybe 20 minutes only to trigger again whenever I type into the keyboard click on something or even do nothing. In my mind this is a virus but I am no expert. A scan using Avast finds nothing. the 0nly way I can use this PC is by opening Firefox which seems ok, I have written this help request by using Firefox browser.  I have looked in the Avast help pages to see if I can find some way of asking Avast for Technical help with this or to report a virus/Malware that Avast can not detect but I can not find it. So if anyone has had this before and knows how to cure it I would be very happy. :-\

Offline Pondus

• Probably Bot
  • Not a avast user
no need to make a new topic here when you already had started one here  >> https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=234048.0

anyway stay in this topic now

did you also run malwarebytes?
did it detect anything? if so attach that log also

« Last Edit: May 08, 2020, 04:29:54 PM by Pondus »

Offline Glenn102