Author Topic: Windows 10 20H2 update crashes... Windows 10 crashes at the end of installing AV  (Read 5837 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84887
  • No support PMs thanks
Hi, the devs would need some logs...

Follow instructions: https://support.avast.com/article/33/ and post the File-ID and/or name of the Support-File here afterwards.

I think the devs could create themselve a VM with Windows 7 and then update to Windows 10 20H2 using the Mediacreation tool ! can't they ?
<snip>

Whilst they probably could do that yes, but what they can't do is exactly replicate your system.

Hopefully your logs will help them with the problem.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline malfretup

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Hi, the devs would need some logs...

Follow instructions: https://support.avast.com/article/33/ and post the File-ID and/or name of the Support-File here afterwards.

I think the devs could create themselve a VM with Windows 7 and then update to Windows 10 20H2 using the Mediacreation tool ! can't they ?
<snip>

Whilst they probably could do that yes, but what they can't do is exactly replicate your system.

Hopefully your logs will help them with the problem.

Because I had the problem on many computers updated from Windows 7 directly to Windows 10 20H2 or from Windows 7 to Windows 8, 8.1 10 and go to the latest and have the same problem, I supposed that the problem was Windows 7

So I made a Windows 7 VirtualBox VM, with Nothing else except Windows, directly make un update with the MediaCreationTool, and so go to Windows 10 20H2 and after, install avast… So with all those explanation, they can, for sure, replicate exactly the system :)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70200
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
So because I am cool and I have some time to waste… here are two reports ID :

VH3NR (after I uninstalled avast using avast clear from safe mode and reboot the computer)
IM58P (the report has been made from safe mode because the computer is rebooting in loop)

I hope it will help
Thanks, the devs are informed.
W 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.4.2462.B3 [UI.616] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10.1 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70200
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Hi, the devs think it might be related to HVCI. Do you have HVCI/Core isolation/Memory integrity enabled..?
W 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.4.2462.B3 [UI.616] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10.1 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline malfretup

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Hi, the devs think it might be related to HVCI. Do you have HVCI/Core isolation/Memory integrity enabled..?

Absolutely not
As I said, this problem appeared only on computers who were first on Windows 7 and upgraded from Windows 7 to Windows 10 20H2 not reguarding if there was other Windows between Windows 7 to Windows 10

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70200
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
OK, the devs are trying to reproduce it...
W 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.4.2462.B3 [UI.616] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10.1 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline malfretup

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
OK, the devs are trying to reproduce it...

They will easyly I think ;)

Offline Marshal_Kilgore

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
I can confirm the problem reported by malfretup:

My laptop was updated from Windows 7 to Windows 10 a year ago. The update from Version 2004 to 20H2 via MediaCreationTool failed when migrating applications. After uninstalling Avast Free (20.8.2432) with avastclear the update of Windows 10 was successful, but reinstalling Avast resulted in the described boot-loop.

Manually installing KB4562830 on the other hand worked fine. So the cause are most probably remnants of Avast in the Registry/WinSxS from its installation under Windows 7.

Albeit only few users would be affected this time, it should be fixed before the next Feature Update requires an inplace update.

Offline davews

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
I had absolutely no issues updating from 2004 (fully updated) to 20H2 using Windows Update, that was very quick and painless. I guess you are using the media creation tool because 20H2 was not yet shown as available for your machine.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70200
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
OK, the devs are trying to reproduce it...
They will easyly I think ;)
Dev-Info: I can confirm we've reproduced the issue in VirtualBox and we're trying to figure out, what is the cause (and whether it might be caused by our AV or not). So far the issue only manifests on systems upgraded from Win7, not on clean installations.
W 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.4.2462.B3 [UI.616] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10.1 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70200
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Dev-Info: I can confirm we've probably found the cause - there seems to be an issue in SAM (security account manager) database (corruption), that manifests when lsass.exe (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Local_Security_Authority_Subsystem_Service) tries to access it. The issue can be triggered not only by Avast installation, but also plainly by opening lusrmgr.msc (local users and groups manager), and clicking Groups directory. This tool also accesses the SAM via LRPC call to lsass.exe Warning: If the issue gets triggered, it may not be possible to log into the system again and full recovery/re-installation might be needed.

This issue is therefore not caused by Avast, we just trigger it during installation. We will do our best to contact Microsoft and support them with artifacts from our investigation (we should be able to provide full memory dump) to resolve the issue, but we sadly cannot promise anything going from there.


« Last Edit: November 05, 2020, 01:05:48 PM by Asyn »
W 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.4.2462.B3 [UI.616] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10.1 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline malfretup

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Dev-Info: I can confirm we've probably found the cause - there seems to be an issue in SAM (security account manager) database (corruption), that manifests when lsass.exe (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Local_Security_Authority_Subsystem_Service) tries to access it. The issue can be triggered not only by Avast installation, but also plainly by opening lusrmgr.msc (local users and groups manager), and clicking Groups directory. This tool also accesses the SAM via LRPC call to lsass.exe Warning: If the issue gets triggered, it may not be possible to log into the system again and full recovery/re-installation might be needed.

This issue is therefore not caused by Avast, we just trigger it during installation. We will do our best to contact Microsoft and support them with artifacts from our investigation (we should be able to provide full memory dump) to resolve the issue, but we sadly cannot promise anything going from there.



OK, it's great that the Devs found the bug using all the clues I provided :) and I was quite sure that the problem was one from Microsoft... I hope they will correct it quickly, so I could install back again avast on my upgraded computers :)

Actually, Avira is installed... and I prefer Avast lol :)

I keep an eye on this subject

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70200
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
W 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.4.2462.B3 [UI.616] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10.1 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline malfretup

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18

Offline moeller.rainer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
For me it seems that Windows 2020-11 Cumulative Update has solved the problem.
I was able to update a VM installation that has failed before on both ways:
- Installing the 2020-11 updates on Windows 10 Version 2004 and updating to Windows 20H2 with installed Avast Free Antivirus
- Removing Avast and updating to Windows 20H2, then installing the 2020-11 Cumulative Update and reinistalling Avast afterwards

Though I wouldn't go any risk and  won't make the update without a reliable backup/restore path