Author Topic: AOL Protected  (Read 3754 times)

slybo

AOL Protected
« on: November 18, 2006, 07:13:53 PM »
Hi, I was reading on the avast web site trrying to figure something out and found a page that said avast web shield did not work with AOL, does this mean I am not protected or is this something not to worry about? I am using the Avast Professional 4 version, I have AOL and Road Runner. If also you could answer what I was looking for, on the Log Viewer setting page do you put the slider at the top on Emergency or the bottom on debug to include all the items in the list. In other words I want it to log all the items so where do I place the slider to do this. I am new to avast so please understand if this sounds like a dumb question. Thanks slybo

tls

Re: AOL Protected
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2006, 09:48:00 PM »
AOL is not scanned by webshield; however, AOL mail is scanned by whatever anti-virus AOL is using now (not sure whether they are using McAfee or Kaspersky, or maybe something else).  I have had no problems with viruses in my e-mail (AOL dial-up).  But I also access any mail with unexpected attachments, etc. through MS Outlook, and it is scanned by the avast! Outlook/Exchange provider.  Since I delete anything that actually looks suspicious without opening it, especially obvious spam, I don't worry about not having AOL scanned by webshield.

I believe setting the log viewer to "debug," at the bottom, will result in logging of everything from there up (all categories).

(edited to add log viewer answer)

« Last Edit: November 18, 2006, 09:56:47 PM by t l s »

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2006, 10:04:11 PM »