Author Topic: avast home & vnc remote control  (Read 9809 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

apttool

  • Guest
avast home & vnc remote control
« on: February 01, 2007, 04:27:49 PM »
I am new to this... How do I configure avast to allow for me to use vnc remote control? 
Thanks,  apttool

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89243
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast home & vnc remote control
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2007, 04:45:45 PM »
Why can't you use it, are you getting any errors/alerts, if so what ?

Hopefully this might help others answer the question as I don't use VPN software.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.4.6112 (build 24.4.9067.762) UI 1.0.803/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

apttool

  • Guest
Re: avast home & vnc remote control
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2007, 06:53:12 PM »
I am unable to connect from home to work with avast! running.  It gives me an error saying unable to connect to remote computer.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89243
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast home & vnc remote control
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2007, 07:05:41 PM »
As I said I don't use VPN but avast doesn't block, just monitors and alerts to infection, the web shield shouldn't monitor the VPN as that uses secure communication and not standard http protocol.

Are you sure that the error is coming from avast, can you post a screen shot ?

What is your firewall ?

Try pausing or terminating the Web Shield, though I can't see how that would get in the way. If no difference, try the same with the Network Shield don't disable both together so we can if possible pinpoint any interaction/conflict.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.4.6112 (build 24.4.9067.762) UI 1.0.803/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

apttool

  • Guest
Re: avast home & vnc remote control
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2007, 07:52:12 PM »
Thanks for your help.   I am at work now so I can't do a screen shot just yet. 
will try this out when I get home.  Thanks again

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89243
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast home & vnc remote control
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2007, 07:56:08 PM »
No problem, welcome to the forums, later.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.4.6112 (build 24.4.9067.762) UI 1.0.803/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6927
Re: avast home & vnc remote control
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2007, 03:33:58 AM »
Hello apttool!

avast! is not the reason you can not connect to your computer at work. avast! is on and running last 4 years on my machine, and I never had problems connecting through UlraVNC (WinVNC), pcAnywhere or any other remote connection tool to wherever I want... I am doing it right now with my dad's computer all the way in Europe. avast! is not a firewall so it can no be the reason for your problem.

What is blocking your connection is your company's firewall that doesn't allow anything inside. You need to ask for pemission your administrator, or they need to do some additional configuring.
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

apttool

  • Guest
Re: avast home & vnc remote control
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2007, 06:05:37 PM »
Thank you for the reply.  You are correct.  I am having trouble with the vnc not avast.  I appreciate the help. 
Anita

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89243
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast home & vnc remote control
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2007, 06:20:52 PM »
When you do find the resolution if you can let us know, it may help others in the future.

Welcome to the forums.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.4.6112 (build 24.4.9067.762) UI 1.0.803/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

LittleHelper

  • Guest
Re: avast home & vnc remote control
« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2007, 11:41:05 PM »
FULL SHIT! I have troubles  too.
With VNC, RemoteAdmin, DanWare NetOp...
All remote control worked succesfully before avast installation.
avast blockin' ports silently and I dont see this setting :(

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3870
  • Just an avast user
Re: avast home & vnc remote control
« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2007, 11:59:58 PM »
DavidR,

Sorry I cannot send this via an IM ... but just to clarify. 

VPN is a connection mechanism (most frequently used to secure connections to office systems through a firewall).

vnc is a form of remote desktop display/control software (rather like Microsoft's Remote Desktop) that needs to be running on the viewer system and on the remote desktop system (usually called the server).

To control a desktop inside a secure business system you probably need both.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89243
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast home & vnc remote control
« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2007, 12:54:44 AM »
I'm aware what VPN is just that I don't use one, what I couldn't see is how avast could possibly interfere with it as had previously suspected by the two experiencing VPN problems and their firstly assuming the problem was with avast.

By its secure nature web shield shouldn't get involved and I don't believe network shield would either.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.4.6112 (build 24.4.9067.762) UI 1.0.803/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3870
  • Just an avast user
Re: avast home & vnc remote control
« Reply #12 on: February 22, 2007, 05:32:33 AM »
Most folks using avast and vnc software are probably using it between themselves and friends/relatives (like szc).  I use it between machines here at home so I can run them from one central machine. 

These cases have nothing to do with using VPN typically and mostly rely on the security checks built into the vnc products (many of which are close relatives to each other).  It is typically these settings, port settings and home NAT routers that are the cause of the problems.  I have not yet seen a vnc issue where it was demonstrated that avast getting in the way. 

LittleHelper

  • Guest
Re: avast home & vnc remote control
« Reply #13 on: February 22, 2007, 09:03:10 AM »
Hey, guys!    ;D
I am using remote control sofaware (VNC, NetOp, RemoteAdmin) for many years
and no problems with routers, firewalls, ports forwarding and etc.
Now (after avast4.7.942 installation on remote server side)  nothing working:
can't connect to the server.
Without avast all is O.K. 
Understand me?

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3870
  • Just an avast user
Re: avast home & vnc remote control
« Reply #14 on: February 22, 2007, 09:55:59 AM »
Specifically which VNC program are you using? 

Without avast?  Have you tried to isolate which avast provider is apparently causing your problem?

As I commented above - all the machines I use VNC on also have avast 4.7.942 running.

By the way, please remember if you are expecting help then you are talking to other avast users just like you - mind your language.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2007, 10:05:13 AM by alanrf »