Author Topic: RPC Error  (Read 2697 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shanks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
RPC Error
« on: February 07, 2004, 12:01:56 PM »
I have installed avast! 4 Home and registered it with a license key. I keep getting following message when access protection control is activated - AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error.
Can somebody help please?
Thanks

SHANKS

Offline mak77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • I'm a llama!
Re:RPC Error
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2004, 01:16:48 PM »
i had the same problem and it seems that today i fixed it !!!

don't know what is the "solution" but i can give you the steps i've done.

this is referred to Windows XP SP1
Install the following  MS updates (maybe this is not importante but since i've done that...):
KB824146
KB833330

then open command prompt and type:
sfc /purgecache

then insert winxp sp1 cd into one of your cd-rom reader and in command prompt type:
sfc /scannow

wait for the process to finish (al least 60% must be done), reboot, et voilĂ ...

this solved my problem, good luck!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:RPC Error
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2004, 03:34:53 AM »
I have installed avast! 4 Home and registered it with a license key. I keep getting following message when access protection control is activated - AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error.
Can somebody help please?
Thanks

SHANKS

I did not try the mak's solution that seems good... But some RPC errors are corrected with a full uninstall / boot / install again.
Are your Windows RPC Service starting automatically?
The best things in life are free.