Author Topic: Avast wants to restart PC everyday - normal?  (Read 13260 times)

kop007

Avast wants to restart PC everyday - normal?
« on: February 23, 2007, 12:42:47 PM »
I'm using the Free edition of Avast.

I've been using it for a couple of years now and it is great.

However, lately, Avast has been asking to restart my PC at least 1 a day (sometimes two).

When I restart my PC it always find a virus, but I can move it to chest.

Is this normal? A bit worried...

This is the virus that keeps coming up when I start my PC:
316   Sign of "Win32:Agent-EWQ [Trj]" has been found in "C:\WINMCE\system32\Kav26.dll\[UPX]" file. 

Many Thanks

Happy-Dude

Re: Avast wants to restart PC everyday - normal?
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2007, 01:42:08 PM »
A couple of great years and now daily restarts ? Doesn't seem "normal" to me.

Maybe give us your Avast! versions (VPS and the scanner thing, right click the Avast! Resident Scanner on try and click about. Expand them and take a look). Make sure its updated.

Then again, if that same virus is coming up, try repairing or quarentining until you know where it came from. After you know its safe to delete, delete it. If it comes back again, schedule a boot time scan (time consuming, yes, but it catches many things then).

Hope this helps.

kop007

« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2007, 02:24:13 PM »
Hi

Thanks for the response.

My Avast is: 4.7 JAN2007 4.7.942

VPS: 0716-2

Compilation Date: 02/23/2007 (Today).

I will do a boot time scan also.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2007, 02:35:10 PM »
Quote from: kop007
However, lately, Avast has been asking to restart my PC at least 1 a day (sometimes two).

What is the exact message or post a screenshot ?

Operating system restart needed by avast message - First check the contents of the C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\setup.log file, which should show you why it thinks the reboot is needed.