Author Topic: Problems with Updates?? Please help  (Read 6864 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline znuff21

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Problems with Updates?? Please help
« on: June 26, 2007, 07:49:21 AM »
Everytime my computer loads I get a red pop up that says that there was a problem updating...  When I go update manually it tells me that I have the most current version.. Although when I check the "about Avast!" it says that my version is current.

I have attached the pop-up that appears after I click the "red" message... I have also attached the "about Avast!" pop-up.
I'm running XP Home on a HP Celeron 2.6.. I have the latest version of Avast.. running Armor2Net as a firewall... which is fully allowing Avast... (and I deleted the entry just incase)

Let me know if you need any other information...   Windows Security thinks Avast is out of date as well..  This is frustrating... Thanks in advance

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85740
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Problems with Updates?? Please help
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2007, 03:15:34 PM »
I assume that you have a broadband always on connection ?

avast is able to detect a connection and tries to check for updates before the broadband connection is properly established.

So you can delay the avast check for updates by editing the C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Data\avast4.ini file using notepad or a text editor.

Edit the avast4.ini file add the line AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=120 (2 minutes) to the [InetWD] section, this will delay the check for two minutes, you can set it as you feel necessary, but try that first.

Quote
[InetWD]
AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=60


It may also be a firewall isue, what is your firewall ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.693) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline znuff21

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problems with Updates?? Please help
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2007, 03:19:39 PM »
I am using Armor2Net as a firewall... I think the Windows firewall is on as well...   Although I use this same setup on another pc and I have no issues...   I find it strange that the "about" says that the version is old but when you go to update it says it is current.

Thanks for your help...

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85740
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Problems with Updates?? Please help
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2007, 03:31:40 PM »
Try a repair of avast. Add Remove programs, select 'avast! Anti-Virus,' click the Change/Remove button and scroll down to Repair, click next and follow. You need to be on-line to do this. This has in the bast worked to bring these two into sync.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.693) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline znuff21

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problems with Updates?? Please help
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2007, 05:14:14 AM »
The repair seems to have stopped Windows from thinking Avast is out of date and Avast thinks it is up to date.  But I get the red pop up still...  I have attached the pop-up and the window that comes up after you click the pop-up..   

I have added the AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=120 to the ini file and that didn't help....

Anymore ideas???



Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85740
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Problems with Updates?? Please help
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2007, 03:05:41 PM »
I would suggest a forum search for Armor2Net as I'm sure there have been issues with this firewall mentioned in the forums.

You didn't confirm your internet connection method ?

Did you place it in the [InetWD] section and importantly did you use a text editor and not a word processor to edit the file ?
If so step the the delay up to 180 and see if that has any effect.


Are you able to do a manual update ?
This second image looks very like a successful attempt and no update available (missing the centre section about the VPS), see my image. Check the avast! Log Viewer (right click the avast icon), Warning or Notice sections ?
Or after an error check the C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\setup.log, the last 100-150 lines and see if there is anything about the failure....

There are some firewalls that get started early and may not allow internet access until the system has started after boot. I have zero experience of your firewall so I can't offer any practical suggestions about its settings, etc.

Is this error message displayed directly after boot and has the AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=120 pushed the display of the error further back ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.693) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Problems with Updates?? Please help
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2007, 12:50:38 AM »
running Armor2Net as a firewall... which is fully allowing Avast... (and I deleted the entry just incase)
Into the firewall settings, the following programs should be allowed to connect:

C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe (avast! Web Scanner)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashMaiSv.exe (avast! e-Mail Scanner Service)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\avast.setup (avast! Update executable). This is a temporary file that just appears when an update (check) is about to launch, and disappears again afterwards.

Don't need rights to connect:
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe (avast! antivirus service)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\aswUpdSv.exe (avast! Update Service)
The best things in life are free.

Offline znuff21

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problems with Updates?? Please help
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2007, 03:31:54 PM »
I am confident that Armor2Net is not causing the problem because I am using Avast&Armor2Net on 2 different PCs and have never encountered this trouble.  BUT regardless Armor2Net is allowing the 3 listed files.

Internet is high speed cable mode...

I made all changes to the ini correctly (text doc and in the InetWD section)  It does not matter what value I set... the error always pops up during boot. (Approximately 2 minutes in)

The summary screen indeed was missing the VPS when I checked the about Avast screen it had the correct update... I am able to update manually and I get the same summary screen showing everything up to date.

TODAY:  the VPS section was there when I clicked the error.. I checked the about screen and it listed yesterdays update under VPS update.  I ran another "FIX" from Add/Remove and it correct the date on the about VPS update section and after a reboot the summary that comes up (from clicking the red pop-up) once again does NOT include the VPS section..

I am able to update manually and I get the summary screen that says everything is up to date.. (this summary screen shows the VPS section)

I have included the logs for the time I turned on the PC...   the section that ends @ 22:55  was from the 1st boot up.... the rest is from the "FIX" and a couple of reboots to test the modifications to the ini file...

THANKS A BUNCH FOR ALL THE HELP....


22:52:04 min/gen  Started: 27.06.2007, 22:52:04
22:52:04 min/gen  Running setup_av_pro-3e9 (1001)
22:52:04 nrm/sys  Operating system: WindowsXP ver 5.1, build 2600, sp 2.0 [Service Pack 2]
22:52:04 vrb/sys  Computer WinName: TERRI2007
22:52:04 min/sys  Windows Net User: SYSTEM
22:52:05 min/gen  Cmdline: /stopstat /verysilent /noreboot
22:52:05 vrb/gen  Operation set to INST_OP_[16]
22:52:05 min/gen  Old version: 3e9 (1001)
22:52:05 nrm/gen  SGW32P::CheckIfInstalled set m_bAlreadyInstalled to 1
22:52:05 nrm/int  SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
22:52:05 nrm/int  SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
22:52:05 vrb/pkg  Part prg_av_pro-3e9 is installed
22:52:05 vrb/pkg  Part vps-75201 is installed
22:52:05 vrb/pkg  Part news-4b is installed
22:52:05 vrb/pkg  Part setup_av_pro-3e9 is installed
22:52:05 vrb/pkg  Part jrog-b is installed
22:52:05 min/gen  Old version: 3e9 (1001)
22:52:05 nrm/pkg  Transferred files: 0
22:52:05 nrm/pkg  Transferred bytes: 0
22:52:05 nrm/pkg  Transfer time: 0 ms
22:52:05 vrb/fil  NeedReboot=false
22:52:05 min/gen  Return code: 0x20000001 [Nothing done]
22:52:05 min/gen  Stopped: 27.06.2007, 22:52:05


22:52:11 min/gen  Started: 27.06.2007, 22:52:11
22:52:11 min/gen  Running setup_av_pro-3e9 (1001)
22:52:11 nrm/sys  Operating system: WindowsXP ver 5.1, build 2600, sp 2.0 [Service Pack 2]
22:52:11 vrb/sys  Computer WinName: TERRI2007
22:52:11 min/sys  Windows Net User: SYSTEM
22:52:11 min/gen  Cmdline: /downloadpkgs /noreboot /updatevps /verysilent  /limitcpu
22:52:11 vrb/gen  DldSrc set to inet
22:52:11 vrb/gen  Operation set to INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES
22:52:11 min/gen  Old version: 3e9 (1001)
22:52:12 nrm/gen  SGW32P::CheckIfInstalled set m_bAlreadyInstalled to 1
22:52:12 vrb/sys  Computer DnsName: Terri2007
22:52:12 vrb/sys  Computer Ip Addr: 192.168.1.105
22:52:12 nrm/int  SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
22:52:12 nrm/int  SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
22:52:12 vrb/pkg  Part prg_av_pro-3e9 is installed
22:52:12 vrb/pkg  Part vps-75201 is installed
22:52:12 vrb/pkg  Part news-4b is installed
22:52:12 vrb/pkg  Part setup_av_pro-3e9 is installed
22:52:12 vrb/pkg  Part jrog-b is installed
22:52:12 min/gen  Old version: 3e9 (1001)
22:53:03 vrb/fil  SetExistingFilesBitmap: 1024->151->151
22:53:03 min/gen  GUID: cedf4100-a3f3-4013-9aef-3f421cf96014
22:53:04 nrm/gen  Server definition(s) loaded for 'main': 125 (maintenance:0)
22:53:04 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download84 AVAST server' from 'main'
22:53:04 min/pkg  GetPackages - set proxy for inet
22:53:04 nrm/int  SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
22:53:04 nrm/int  SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
22:53:43 vrb/gen Used server: http://download84.avast.com/iavs4x
22:53:45 nrm/gen  Server definition(s) loaded for 'main': 125 (maintenance:0)
22:53:45 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download76 AVAST server' from 'main'
22:53:45 min/pkg  GetPackages - set proxy for inet
22:53:45 nrm/int  SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
22:53:45 nrm/int  SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
22:53:49 vrb/gen Used server: http://download76.avast.com/iavs4x
22:53:49 vrb/gen Used server: http://download76.avast.com/iavs4x
22:53:49 min/pkg  Load C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\prod-av_pro.vpu
22:53:49 vrb/pkg  LatestPartInfo: jrog = jrog-b
22:53:49 vrb/pkg  LatestPartInfo: news = news-4b
22:53:49 vrb/pkg  LatestPartInfo: program = prg_av_pro-3e9
22:53:49 vrb/pkg  LatestPartInfo: setup = setup_av_pro-3e9
22:53:49 vrb/pkg  LatestPartInfo: vps = vps-75202
22:53:49 vrb/gen Used server: http://download76.avast.com/iavs4x
22:53:49 vrb/pkg  Part vps-75202 was set to be installed
22:53:49 vrb/pkg  Removed obsolete file part-vps-75201.vpu
22:53:49 min/gen  Part of license key: W3173593R0068S1112
22:53:51 vrb/pkg  FilterOutExistingFiles: 151 & 151 = 0
22:53:51 vrb/pkg  FilterOutExistingFiles: 151 & 151 = 0
22:53:59 vrb/pkg  IsFullOkay: vpsm-75202.vpu - not okay
22:53:59 vrb/pkg  IsFullOkay: vpsm-75202.vpu - not okay
22:53:59 vrb/pkg  IsFullOkay: vpsm-75202.vpu - not okay
22:53:59 vrb/pkg  IsFullOkay: vpsm-75202.vpu - not okay
22:54:00 vrb/gen Used server: http://download76.avast.com/iavs4x
22:54:00 nrm/pkg  DldPackage: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\vpsm-75202.vpu, returned 0x00000000
22:54:00 vrb/pkg  Removed obsolete file vpsm-75201.vpu
22:54:56 min/pkg  vps: needs to be updated [075202]
22:54:58 vrb/pkg  FilterOutExistingFiles: 151 & 151 = 0
22:54:59 nrm/pkg  Transferred files: 5
22:54:59 nrm/pkg  Transferred bytes: 1454
22:54:59 nrm/pkg  Transfer time: 36813 ms
22:55:00 vrb/int Sending stats 'http://download76.avast.com/cgi-bin/iavs4stats.cgi': 00000000 204
22:55:00 vrb/fil  NeedReboot=false
22:55:00 min/gen  Return code: 0x20000000 [Something done]
22:55:00 min/gen  Stopped: 27.06.2007, 22:55:00


22:55:12 min/gen  Started: 27.06.2007, 22:55:12
22:55:12 min/gen  Running setup_av_pro-3e9 (1001)
22:55:12 nrm/sys  Operating system: WindowsXP ver 5.1, build 2600, sp 2.0 [Service Pack 2]
22:55:12 vrb/sys  Computer WinName: TERRI2007
22:55:12 min/sys  Windows Net User: SYSTEM
22:55:12 min/gen  Cmdline: /stopstat /verysilent /noreboot
22:55:12 vrb/gen  Operation set to INST_OP_[16]
22:55:12 min/gen  Old version: 3e9 (1001)
22:55:12 nrm/gen  SGW32P::CheckIfInstalled set m_bAlreadyInstalled to 1
22:55:13 nrm/int  SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
22:55:13 nrm/int  SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
22:55:13 vrb/pkg  Part prg_av_pro-3e9 is installed
22:55:13 vrb/pkg  Part vps-75202 is installed
22:55:13 vrb/pkg  Part news-4b is installed
22:55:13 vrb/pkg  Part setup_av_pro-3e9 is installed
22:55:13 vrb/pkg  Part jrog-b is installed
22:55:13 min/gen  Old version: 3e9 (1001)
22:55:13 nrm/pkg  Transferred files: 0
22:55:13 nrm/pkg  Transferred bytes: 0
22:55:13 nrm/pkg  Transfer time: 0 ms
22:55:13 vrb/fil  NeedReboot=false
22:55:14 min/gen  Return code: 0x20000001 [Nothing done]
22:55:14 min/gen  Stopped: 27.06.2007, 22:55:14




Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Problems with Updates?? Please help
« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2007, 04:03:37 AM »
I ran another "FIX" from Add/Remove and it correct the date on the about VPS update section and after a reboot the summary that comes up (from clicking the red pop-up) once again does NOT include the VPS section.
Is everything ok now? Do you need further help?
The best things in life are free.

Offline znuff21

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problems with Updates?? Please help
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2007, 05:52:46 AM »
I do need further help,

I still get the same red pop up..  and once again the "about" page shows yesterday's VPS file... but the summary pop that appears when I click on the red box... says that everything is up to date...(aka has todays file ...-3)

A "fix" corrected the date on the "about" screen.... but the red pop up will still appear at every boot...  and now the summary from the red pop-up does not show the VPS info again....

same results as yesterday...

frustrating...

Thanks

~Anth

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Problems with Updates?? Please help
« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2007, 02:38:58 PM »
Please, check:

1) If your subscription allows the update right now (i.e., if it is not expired). Home (free) version need registering each 14 months.
    I hope you haven't bought a license from a site on this list: http://www.avast.com/eng/fraudulent-sales-of-avast-products.html

Also, bad jollyroger.vpu file could contain banned registration keys with error and then update fails because of an invalid key. See how to download a new jollyroger.vpu, http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=27185.msg222148#msg222148.

2) If your firewall settings and allow avast.setup to connect.
    If you're not sure, just turn off your firewall (to be sure the update failure is not due to it).
    Maybe you should 'remove' avast.setup entry, try to update, receiving a new alert from the firewall, allowing it and checking it to remember.

3)  Check your proxy settings into avast!:
     Left click the avast icon > Settings
     Update (Basic) > Details > Proxy
     Make sure your browser is not set to "Work Offline" (this option is generally in the File menu).
     If it doesn't help, try switching from "Auto-detect" to "No proxy" (I'm assuming you're not connecting to the Internet via proxy).
     You can run proxycfg -d in a DOS window to make your computer connect direct, without proxy. You can run proxycfg -h for help.

4) Also you can try changing update service's login account, follow this:
    Open services control panel (e.g. Start->Run, and type: services.msc
    Double-click on avast! iAVS4 Control Service to show properties. Switch to LogOn page.
    Enter administrator account name and password.
    Do the same for avast! Antivirus service.
    Then start update again.

5) The last option, check if the servers.def file is corrupt or 0KB (C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\servers.def).
    You can try and download the servers.def file, http://files.avast.com/iavs4x/servers.def and replace the one in the avast setup folder.
The best things in life are free.

Offline chinagirl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • my blog
Re: Problems with Updates?? Please help
« Reply #11 on: July 02, 2007, 01:20:44 PM »
i am using AVAST Professional Edition 4.7, but always there is problem with updates ..... where can i get the right key codes?
is it a free one? or will i have to buy it?
maybe i should use the home edition, it is said that it is a free one, right?
« Last Edit: July 02, 2007, 01:27:50 PM by chinagirl »
feel sick of virus.....

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85740
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Problems with Updates?? Please help
« Reply #12 on: July 02, 2007, 02:39:02 PM »
The Pro version is a paid for option, if you have been using the trila it is only valid for 60 days, then you need to pay for a license which you need to renew each years.

The Home version is only free if can comply with the non-commercial and Home use, you still need to register it to get a registration key emailed to you.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.693) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Problems with Updates?? Please help
« Reply #13 on: July 03, 2007, 05:16:51 AM »
i am using AVAST Professional Edition 4.7, but always there is problem with updates ..... where can i get the right key codes?
is it a free one? or will i have to buy it?
maybe i should use the home edition, it is said that it is a free one, right?
Besides David's explanations, please, post the last 100-150 lines of avast log: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA\log\Setup.log
The best things in life are free.

Offline chinagirl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • my blog
Re: Problems with Updates?? Please help
« Reply #14 on: July 04, 2007, 01:02:29 PM »
The Pro version is a paid for option, if you have been using the trila it is only valid for 60 days, then you need to pay for a license which you need to renew each years.

The Home version is only free if can comply with the non-commercial and Home use, you still need to register it to get a registration key emailed to you.
Thanks for your reply and kindness...

i downloaded the home version and also filled out that form, and got an email at once, but the mail is written in strange words -- not in the right chinese words -- dont know wha it says to me --- anyway, i could recognize the key numbers... thanks God...

i read some postings here and got some information that is maybe useful... and downloaded the antivirus removal tool... hope that i can use it in a correct way...

thanks again
« Last Edit: July 04, 2007, 01:21:31 PM by chinagirl »
feel sick of virus.....