Author Topic: can't open some settings and see logs  (Read 5348 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline aghar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
can't open some settings and see logs
« on: July 14, 2007, 03:15:24 PM »
My Avast (after installation today on Vista, 32bit) behaves in very strange way. I don't have access to proxy settings (in Settings / Updates - after clicking on "proxy" button nothing happens) and can't view logs (after using "view log" also nothing happens  :-[ ). Could it be caused by UAC or something else? Thank you in advance for your help!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: can't open some settings and see logs
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2007, 04:08:31 PM »
My Avast (after installation today on Vista, 32bit) behaves in very strange way. I don't have access to proxy settings (in Settings / Updates - after clicking on "proxy" button nothing happens)
You can open this window if an update is being carried on... or an update was crashed and avast.setup stayed running in background. Kill this process (avast.setup) and try again.

and can't view logs (after using "view log" also nothing happens  :-[ )
Did you try running ashLogV.exe from avast folder?
The best things in life are free.

Offline aghar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: can't open some settings and see logs
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2007, 10:37:06 AM »
My Avast (after installation today on Vista, 32bit) behaves in very strange way. I don't have access to proxy settings (in Settings / Updates - after clicking on "proxy" button nothing happens)
You can open this window if an update is being carried on... or an update was crashed and avast.setup stayed running in background. Kill this process (avast.setup) and try again.

There is no such process. Also all other things looks all right (avast is running, checking, updating...)

and can't view logs (after using "view log" also nothing happens  :-[ )
Did you try running ashLogV.exe from avast folder?

Yes - nothing happens. There is only appropriate process in the background. It looks "frozen".

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: can't open some settings and see logs
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2007, 05:07:22 PM »
There is no such process. Also all other things looks all right (avast is running, checking, updating...)
Ok. Update process all right.

Yes - nothing happens. There is only appropriate process in the background. It looks "frozen".
Hmmm... did you try to repair your installation?
Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove. Then choose Repair function in the popup window (Repair). You must be connected to the internet while repairing.
The best things in life are free.

Offline aghar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: can't open some settings and see logs
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2007, 05:37:14 PM »
I have tried repair and reinstall. It hasn't helped.
However - in main program ("run Avast!" in right-click menu), everything works. From this program I could change proxy settings and see log. So, there is only problem with context menu (when I right-click on Avast icon in system tray). Strange...

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: can't open some settings and see logs
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2007, 07:33:04 PM »
Hope the programmers could help us... indeed strange behavior...
The best things in life are free.

Offline aghar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: can't open some settings and see logs
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2007, 07:48:06 PM »
And one more thing: when I start main program, sometimes after the test of system's dlls it also looks "frozen" (process exists, 0% of processor usage, no changes in memory usage even after some time).

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: can't open some settings and see logs
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2007, 10:08:02 PM »
Try creating a dump og the frozen ashLogV.exe.
Just right-click its entry in the Task Manager (Processes tab) and select "Create Dump File". Then upload the file to ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming (as described here http://support.avast.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=18).

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline aghar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: can't open some settings and see logs
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2007, 11:53:46 AM »
Log viewer works well now. I have tried to make dump file from ashSimple.exe, but after right click in task manager to do this, I have received message "The process can't be stopped. Access is denied". Therefore I have killed the process and run the main program once more and it has worked this time...  ??? It behaves in the same way after each restart of the system.
Thank you for your help up till now!

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: can't open some settings and see logs
« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2007, 12:50:56 PM »
How do you log on? As an admin or regular user? If admin, is UAC enabled (i.e. you're in fact a "restricted admin")?

Thanks :)
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline aghar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: can't open some settings and see logs
« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2007, 01:40:49 PM »
Admin, UAC is turned on. Should I turn it off?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: can't open some settings and see logs
« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2007, 10:21:35 PM »
Quote
Admin, UAC is turned on. Should I turn it off?

Normally not, but it would be interesting to try to turn it off and see if it makes any difference with respect to the issue...

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline aghar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: can't open some settings and see logs
« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2007, 10:13:00 AM »
Turning off UAC doesn't help. However, I have managed to make dump file from "frozen" ashSimpl. I have uploaded it to ftp site mentioned by you (file name: errenay_ashSimpl.DMP).