Author Topic: Backup and Restore settings don't work as they should  (Read 1584 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline InvisibleMan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Backup and Restore settings don't work as they should
« Reply #15 on: October 14, 2021, 03:01:40 PM »
Dev-Info: Thanks for report. It should be fixed in first beta of V21.10
Oh, that's great news!  :)

What about another bug I mentioned just a few messages before that?
Could that be reviewed with that report I sent from this topic, or should I specifically create a new topic for that issue and repost it there?

I actually managed to find a lot of reports over the past several years, the latest one being:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=234884.0

Maybe that's how it's supposed to work?
But that's weird. In the past I was able to just clear the Quarantine chest just fine.
Did it several times already on this particular computer.

In any case, an error during an attempt to restore it shouldn't be the normal behavior I suspect.

It's just Behavior Shield put that file in the chest this time... Maybe that's why it's bugged now and can't be deleted from there.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72923
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Backup and Restore settings don't work as they should
« Reply #16 on: October 14, 2021, 04:19:36 PM »
What about another bug I mentioned just a few messages before that?
Could that be reviewed with that report I sent from this topic, or should I specifically create a new topic for that issue and repost it there?
Please start a new topic.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.11.6787.IBC [UI.681] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.4 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.4 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline rocksteady

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1224
Re: Backup and Restore settings don't work as they should
« Reply #17 on: October 15, 2021, 04:24:45 PM »
File ID: IZQ8V
File Name: 20211014_1055_IZQ8V_2565269668.zip

OK, I'll forward it, let's see...
Thank you!

I also just got one theory, that maybe (just maybe) it could be the interface itself not showing the settings in those areas (even after rebooting the computer).
Even though the settings themselves could be internally restored.

I don't know if that's even possible, so that's just a theory.

Have you looked in the dreaded "geek:area" and see if your settings appear there?
« Last Edit: October 16, 2021, 11:28:38 AM by rocksteady »

Offline InvisibleMan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Backup and Restore settings don't work as they should
« Reply #18 on: October 15, 2021, 08:03:45 PM »
File ID: IZQ8V
File Name: 20211014_1055_IZQ8V_2565269668.zip

OK, I'll forward it, let's see...
Thank you!

I also just got one theory, that maybe (just maybe) it could be the interface itself not showing the settings in those areas (even after rebooting the computer).
Even though the settings themselves could be internally restored.

I don't know if that's even possible, so that's just a theory.

Have you looked in the dreaded "geek-area" and see if your settings appear there?
Not sure I understand your question.

But yes, I checked all ways I could. Only some settigns were restored to the ones I had before creating a backup file.

Offline rocksteady

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1224
Re: Backup and Restore settings don't work as they should
« Reply #19 on: October 16, 2021, 11:33:45 AM »
I have amended my previous post. Should read as geek:area

If you open Avast UI>Settings>Search and type geek:area in there, you will see additional program settings, which you can then check have been retained (or maybe not).

Offline InvisibleMan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Backup and Restore settings don't work as they should
« Reply #20 on: October 17, 2021, 05:13:57 AM »
I have amended my previous post. Should read as geek:area

If you open Avast UI>Settings>Search and type geek:area in there, you will see additional program settings, which you can then check have been retained (or maybe not).
I didn't even know that existed  :o