Author Topic: I'm new with avast home....... plzzz help  (Read 7138 times)

bluebutterfly

I'm new with avast home....... plzzz help
« on: November 03, 2007, 06:31:07 PM »
I just downloaded avast last night. I can't figure it out.How do you get it to scan you pc? Other that the memory and startup. I'm confused about the VRDB and how to work it and how to st it and basically what it does. look I have a yahoo messanger the name to add to it to help me it threefuzzcats77 and I have an MSN messanger and the name to add to it to help me is bluesky77363830. If you can do that plzz do. I just need help with this.   ??? ??? ???

Offline essexboy

• Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: I'm new with avast home....... plzzz help
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2007, 07:24:45 PM »
Hi thre can you state exactly what you want to do and I will talk you through it

bluebutterfly

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2007, 07:35:00 PM »
Thank you for your help essexboy. I can't figure out how to get it to scan my computer for one. and then the rest of it is so confusing on how it works that I can't figure it out.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2007, 07:40:03 PM »
Right click the avast 'a' icon, select Start avast! Antivirus, that opens up a memory check and once complete it should present the Simple User Interface a little like a media player (you can change skins).

From here you can scan all Local Disks, Folder selection (for a scan of a specific folder, etc.) or Removable Media. You can set the sensitivity of a scan and if archives are scanned or not.

Quote from: Extract of avast help file