Author Topic: How to get remote access after Avast one installed?  (Read 2230 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
How to get remote access after Avast one installed?
« on: January 04, 2022, 10:02:03 PM »
I have installed Avast One on my Win 10 VPS (a cloud virtual machine) and it kicked me out of RDP & now I cannot get back in.

How do I get access to my cloud server? It's not like I can go to the datacenter & ask to physically sit in front of it :-)

Thank you!

Offline JS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to get remote access after Avast one installed?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2022, 05:51:51 PM »
Can I please get a reply here? I tried to research online/FAQ's etc, no luck. I am losing money because I have a server that I cannot use. I would hate to have to wipe & redo the whole thing again, so if there is a way to get in, please let me know.

Also, I would suggest you either detect that the installer is running on a VM & let the user know or at least make it really prominent on the download page!

!!! Do not install if RDP is your only way into the machine !!!

(Can Team Viewer/Google RDP/Bastion be used?)

Offline Charyb-0

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2508
Re: How to get remote access after Avast one installed?
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2022, 11:27:05 PM »
Have you tried setting your network profile to private/trusted?

Offline JS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to get remote access after Avast one installed?
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2022, 09:40:27 AM »
Have you tried setting your network profile to private/trusted?

I think you are missing the point.

I cannot get INTO my cloud virtual machine. I got kicked out of RDP during the install of AVAST One & I cannot get back in because (I presume) the RDP Firewall turned itself on as part of the install.
How can I turn off the firewall or change anything if I cannot remote into the machine in the first place?

If there is no way out, this is a major oversight on the developer side.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48619
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: How to get remote access after Avast one installed?
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2022, 01:56:56 PM »
Have you tried setting your network profile to private/trusted?

I think you are missing the point.

I cannot get INTO my cloud virtual machine. I got kicked out of RDP during the install of AVAST One & I cannot get back in because (I presume) the RDP Firewall turned itself on as part of the install.
How can I turn off the firewall or change anything if I cannot remote into the machine in the first place?

If there is no way out, this is a major oversight on the developer side.
Reported to Avast. Let's see if that get you some help.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline JS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to get remote access after Avast one installed?
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2022, 02:39:23 PM »
Have you tried setting your network profile to private/trusted?

I think you are missing the point.

I cannot get INTO my cloud virtual machine. I got kicked out of RDP during the install of AVAST One & I cannot get back in because (I presume) the RDP Firewall turned itself on as part of the install.
How can I turn off the firewall or change anything if I cannot remote into the machine in the first place?

If there is no way out, this is a major oversight on the developer side.
Reported to Avast. Let's see if that get you some help.

Thank you. any help would be appreciated! I am about to wipe the whole thing but I would rather not...

Offline JindrichK

  • Avast team
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: How to get remote access after Avast one installed?
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2022, 11:49:34 AM »
Hello, I am very sorry you lost remote access because of Avast. It is most probably because the Firewall took the original profile settings from Windows, which was public profile. Our public profile is much more strict and blocks all the incoming TCP/UDP traffic (initiated by other devices)... There are already some measures in place that should prevent this kind of situation - FW automatically selects profile based on network parameters, it will not allow you to switch to public profile while the pc is under active RDP connection. Unfortunately, in this case (after fresh installation) it took the setting with higher priority which was the original setting from Windows. We are already working on this to prevent this situation in the future.

By any chance, I suppose you do not have an access to the virtual hdd? In that case we could change FW configuration files and it would reboot with new settings. Otherwise, I am really afraid that the remote access is lost. I am sorry.

Offline JS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to get remote access after Avast one installed?
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2022, 01:40:50 PM »
Thanks for the response!

Unfortunately I have no access to the hdd file, but in the meantime I asked for the server to be scrapped & rebuilt. It is good that you are addressing it, I guess it is just one of those scenarios that sometimes slips through the testing.

I am just saying, but your documentation says that the Firewall can only be open to RDP access as a 'temporary setting'. You may want to look into that otherwise how will Avast run on any VDI infrastructure?

Good luck!