Author Topic: Keep Getting a Trojan Horse/Worm and I don't know how to get rid of it  (Read 4877 times)

weristich

Hi,

I have been using this computer for three years now.  It is like my baby.  All three years I have been using avast and there has only once been a problem.  A couple of weeks ago, I have a problem with this one malware, which I finally managed to get removed.  Then about a week ago, I got Win32:Small-iky.  Finally got rid of that.  Now, whenever I start firefox, a pop up for a site comes up using Internet Explorer.  A few minutes later it says that Avast has detected a worm or trojan horse, I can't remember which.  Next time it comes up, I will write it down.  Can someone please help me get rid of it.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2007, 07:31:11 PM by weristich »

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: Keep Getting a Virus and I don't know how to get rid of it
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2007, 01:22:26 AM »
I suggest the general cleaning procedure for virus that come and go...

1. Disable System Restore on Windows ME or Windows XP. System Restore cannot be disabled on Windows 9x and it's not available in Windows 2k. After boot you can enable System Restore again after step 3.

2. Clean your temporary files. You can use CleanUp or the Windows Advanced Care features for that.

3. Schedule a boot time scanning with avast. Start avast! > Right click the skin > Schedule a boot-time scanning. Select for scanning archives. Boot. Other option is scanning in SafeMode (repeatedly press F8 while booting).

4. It will be good if you download, install, update and run AVG Antispyware. Some users recommend SUPERantispyware, Spyware Terminator and/or a-squared (take care about false positives).
If any infection is detected, better and safer is send the file to Quarantine than to simple delete than.