Author Topic: Boot Scan Interface Error  (Read 7421 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ADP_AVAST_01

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Boot Scan Interface Error
« on: August 05, 2022, 12:13:48 PM »
Hello,

Today i wanted to perform a Boot Scan, i scheduled it and then reboot the PC. When booting, i saw a Command Prompt open for a fraction of a second, then at the middle of the screen appeared the Avast Interface which appeared stuck in loading. (See attach photo.)

After 5 minutes, Unable to do anything else and unsure if the scan was working well, i shut down the computer and launch it a minute after. Windows launched fine, to my relief. When checking the Scan report, i saw that, seemingly, the scan had been running despite the fact that i did not see it working.

I don't know if the Error is linked to the latest update which had changes regarding boot scan, so i ask the question.  :)

By the way, thanks in advance for all the help that could be provided on the subject.  :)

Edit 05/08 : I use Avast Free Antivirus Ver.22.7 (the latest version) on Windows 10

Edit 06/08 :

Even since i suspected the result to be the same as yesterday, i tried to run a boot scan today, and paid further attention to it this time. So first, After restarting, the PC boot, then boot a second time after (visibly running within the Windows RE), then come the black screen with two Command Prompt, one after another, which disappears and then at the middle of the screen come the Avast Interface.

I waited 10-15 minutes to see what may happened, but like yesterday, the Avast Interface was stuck on a loading loop (see the photo). To note, that while the mouse was usable, the keyboard wasn't, forbidding the use of Escape. Unsure what would happen after if i waited for the scan to complete, i shut down the PC and launch it again manually. Like yesterday, no problem detected after this.

To note, that like yesterday, when checking the scan report, it seemed that it was running despite the fact that the UI was stuck on a loading loop.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2022, 04:41:41 PM by ADP_AVAST_01 »

Offline berwen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: Boot Scan Interface Error
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2022, 02:19:18 PM »
I posted the same problem in german forum.
But there is nobody more who read textes.
"Unable to start service 'aswMonFlt'.
Bopot scan works only the first time after new installation.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87080
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Boot Scan Interface Error
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2022, 06:18:22 PM »
I don't know how you initiated your scan, but this video might help:

Avast - Boot Time Scan - A closer look

https://youtu.be/B1MHWp6FhIw
A closer look at the new Boot Time Scan in Avast Antivirus.
https://www.avast.com/en-us/free-antivirus-download#pc
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline ADP_AVAST_01

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Boot Scan Interface Error
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2022, 06:37:00 PM »
Thanks for the video, but unfortunatly, it does not really solve my problem, mostly because, as laughable as it may be, it does not show the rebooting process.

The problem, like i explained, is that after scheduling the Boot-scan i reboot the computer, "normally", and i believe that maybe it is here that lies, possibly, the problem.

So question is, did the person on the video performed the reboot the "normal" way, or did he performed the reboot by using the following path, "Update & security > Recovery > Advanced Startup, Restart now". (Which would be surprinsing since it would add some obstacles for non initiated peoples to perform a simple boot scan that, to this day, worked quite well as it was).

Since my personal knowledge is quite limited, i did not try to perform a boot scan using the advanced startup path, since i do not know were it would lead me, hence why i created this topic. =)

Again, if anyone do have some more information or solution, i thanks you in advance for the help. =)
« Last Edit: August 08, 2022, 06:39:01 PM by ADP_AVAST_01 »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87080
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Boot Scan Interface Error
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2022, 07:29:26 PM »
At 1:12 of the video it shows the Run on next PC Reboot - did you even see that option and select it in what you did ?
It shows the Scan will run on next reboot, if you did.

Now I don't see anything in the video either on Bob manually restarting his system.  I can only think that he did this manually windows restart (but not selecting a boot-time scan in the old way).  Again I can't personally test this as I don't have 22.7.

However in the preamble before that in the video the files, etc. and presumably setting up the Windows Recovery Environment commands to run the scan on the next restart are setup.

So a normal restart should be intercepted by Windows RE command that were setup to now run the Avast Boot Time Scan in the recovery environment.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47566
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Boot Scan Interface Error
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2022, 09:49:33 PM »
This is how I restarted the system.
I selected the following via the Windows Start button:
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline ADP_AVAST_01

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Boot Scan Interface Error
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2022, 10:36:24 PM »
First, thanks for sharing and helping.

Ok, then things are getting a little clearer on this side since apparently there had been no wrong interpretations on my part and like Bob, i scheduled the boot scan and restarted the system normally via the Windows Start button.

Also, to clarify the chain of events, i figured that the presentation bellow could be better to represent the problem (Edited 09/08/22 after performing a new boot scan with the "Enable debug logging" setting on :

Step 1 - After "installation of the special boot time scan definitions" (edit : i forgot to mention this part, but it was always done for each boot scan), i schedule the Boot Scan

Step 2 - I restart the system via the normal/classic Windows (Re)Start button

Step 3 - The system shut down

Step 4 - The system launch with the "ping" and the BIOS loading, then, kick black screen with a grey rectangular bar that charges elements that i assume are for the WindowsRE.

Step 5 - Two Command boxes pop up, one above the other in quick succession with some instructions (i suppose they trigger the WindowsRE) then disappear to leave place for the Avast User Interface, which is, problematicaly, stuck on a loading loop, like in the image i attached to the topic. (To note that the keyboard is off and thus unusable, but that the mouse work and that i can move the cursor on the screen.)

(To note that by the look of the image shared by Bob of his Windows UI, which is that of Windows 11, i wonder if the problem may not be linked to the version of Windows, since i ran on Windows 10 and that the trigger process for the WindowsRE may perhaps be different. Don't know^^.)

Again, thanks for the participation and if you or anyone do have some more information or figures some solution, i thanks you in advance for the help on resolving this problem. =)
« Last Edit: August 09, 2022, 04:13:26 PM by ADP_AVAST_01 »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47566
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Boot Scan Interface Error
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2022, 10:56:18 PM »
First, thanks for sharing and helping.

Ok, then things are getting a little clearer on this side since apparently there had been no wrong interpretations on my part and like Bob, i scheduled the boot scan and restarted the system normally via the Windows Start button.

Also, to clarify the chain of events, i figured that the presentation bellow could be better to represent the problem:

Step 1 - I schedule the Boot Scan

Step 2 - I restart the system via the normal/classic Windows (Re)Start button

Step 3 - The system shut down

Step 4 - The system launch a first time briefly, just the "ping" and the BIOS loading, then, black screen, apparently (as far i remember), it shut down again and launch a second time (don't remember if it also trigger the BIOS again.)

Step 5 - Two Command boxes pop up, one above the other in quick succession with some instructions (i suppose they trigger the WindowsRE) then disappear to leave place for the Avast User Interface, which is, problematicaly, stuck on a loading loop, like in the image i attached to the topic. (To note that the keyboard is off and thus unusable, but that the mouse work and that i can move the cursor on the screen.)

(To note that by the look of the image shared by Bob of his Windows UI, which is that of Windows 11, i wonder if the problem may not be linked to the version of Windows, since i ran on Windows 10 and that the trigger process for the WindowsRE may perhaps be different. Don't know^^.)

Again, thanks for the participation and if you or anyone do have some more information or figures some solution, i thanks you in advance for the help on resolving this problem. =)
What I see not listed in your sequence is the installation of the special boot time scan definitions.
That was the first thing I did in the video sequence.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline chris..

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2762
Re: Boot Scan Interface Error
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2022, 08:46:04 AM »
Hi,
For information, 2 other (french) users (W10) have noticed the same problem since the last update.
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=320549.0
I think that for "Jacques Fondaire" who is a regular and who often makes "boot scan", he made the good procedure , in particular the waiting of the download of the definitions (but I asked them anyway).
(To note that by the look of the image shared by Bob of his Windows UI, which is that of Windows 11, i wonder if the problem may not be linked to the version of Windows, since i ran on Windows 10 and that the trigger process for the WindowsRE may perhaps be different. Don't know^^.)
And he uses a beta version
i saw a Command Prompt open for a fraction of a second
The French user was able to capture this window, the command line displayed is :
"windows/system32/wpeinit"

ps:No problem on my side but I use W7

Edit:
Quote from: ciprian.horge
Boot Time Scan now runs inside the Windows RE

Are there any OS limitations/restrictions (win8.1, win10 and win11 etc.) on this new method for the Boot Time scan ?
Didn't get an answer?
It would be interesting to have some because it seems that there are still some problems with this feature
« Last Edit: August 09, 2022, 09:19:16 AM by chris.. »

Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Massive Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2771
Re: Boot Scan Interface Error
« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2022, 10:18:07 AM »
Hi,

Can you provide a support file, please? https://support.avast.com/article/Submit-support-file

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87080
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Boot Scan Interface Error
« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2022, 10:21:55 AM »
<snip quotes>
Quote from: ciprian.horge
Boot Time Scan now runs inside the Windows RE

Are there any OS limitations/restrictions (win8.1, win10 and win11 etc.) on this new method for the Boot Time scan ?
Didn't get an answer?
It would be interesting to have some because it seems that there are still some problems with this feature

I was disappointed too that such a big change didn't warrant more than one line in the release notes.  I would have liked to see a new link to an Avast support article on it.  Rather to have to rely on Avast Users like Bob to put together a video of the process, but as you mention he is using win11.  Which was exactly why I asked the question, which seems to have fallen on deaf ears.

I have been hanging back on 22.7 (and 22.6) so I can't test it on win10. The reason I have been hanging back is, we seem to be getting more issues reported in the forums after new releases.  This never used to be the case in the past even on the beta builds, seems more issues getting through Alpha and Beta testing.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87080
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Boot Scan Interface Error
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2022, 10:24:03 AM »
Hi,

Can you provide a support file, please? https://support.avast.com/article/Submit-support-file

I think an answer to the question I asked in the 22.7 release notes and a new support page relating to the new boot-time scan feature would be nice.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline ADP_AVAST_01

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Boot Scan Interface Error
« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2022, 04:21:14 PM »
Hello,

Thank you all for the participation.

Like asked by r@vast, and after a private message, i performed a new boot scan with the setting "Enable debug logging" turned on, then after shutting down the computer and starting it again, i generated the support file asked.
 
With this third boot scan, i can clarify some little things as of the "how it goes" process :

Step 1 - After "installation of the special boot time scan definitions" (which in my case were already installed, since i "performed" one mere days ago), i scheduled the Boot Scan.

Step 2 - I restart the system via the normal/classic Windows (Re)Start button

Step 3 - The system shut down

Step 4 - The system launch with the "ping" and the BIOS loading, then come a kick black screen with a grey rectangular bar that charges elements that i assume are for the WindowsRE.

Step 5 - After step 4 ended, Two Command boxes pop up, one above the other in quick succession with some instructions (i suppose they trigger something within the WindowsRE) then disappear to leave place for the Avast User Interface, which is, problematicaly, stuck on a loading loop, like in the image i attached to the topic. (To note that the keyboard is off and thus unusable, but that the mouse work and that i can move the cursor on the screen.)

I hope the support file i provided to Avast will help the teams in charge to solve this bug, and i thanks everyone involved in advance for the support. =)

Again, thanks for all the people that help and share on this matter. =)

Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Massive Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2771
Re: Boot Scan Interface Error
« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2022, 02:12:34 PM »
Hi,

Thank you.

We have received the support file, and our devs are looking into it.
We will also update the support page for Boot-Time Scan to reference the new GUI (WinRE).
Sorry for the inconvenience.

Offline Milos

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2270
Re: Boot Scan Interface Error
« Reply #14 on: August 11, 2022, 10:55:50 AM »
Hello,
for now the Win RE used for Boot-time scan can be disabled in geek:area, see attached picture.

Milos