Author Topic: Premium Security Network Insp does not allow unconnected device to be edited ??  (Read 644 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gary344

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Using Avast Premium Security 22.8.6030 (build 22.8.7500.748), Network inspector, I can not edit (rename) the Unconnected Devices with Unknown name (picture unknown name details screen). I am able to identify some of these with the MAC address as being wireless light switches. I would like to rename these so I have them for future scans
Is there a work around or am I missing something.
Known devices, ones with a logical name can be renamed with the pencil icon in Details row of details window. (picture 'known name details screen')

Offline Gary344

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Any help with this question appreciated !!

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87085
  • No support PMs thanks
I have tried to draw some attention to your topic.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline r@vast

  • Avast team
  • Massive Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2771
Using Avast Premium Security 22.8.6030 (build 22.8.7500.748), Network inspector, I can not edit (rename) the Unconnected Devices with Unknown name (picture unknown name details screen). I am able to identify some of these with the MAC address as being wireless light switches. I would like to rename these so I have them for future scans
Is there a work around or am I missing something.
Known devices, ones with a logical name can be renamed with the pencil icon in Details row of details window. (picture 'known name details screen')

Hi,

A past Network Scan couldn't identify this device. Please note that this device was "Not detected in your last scan." which means it was disconnected or identified as a different device in the last scan. You can use the option "Forget device" to clean your scan results. Should this device reconnect in the future, it'll be listed again.