Author Topic: Premium Security UI takes a long time to load  (Read 1387 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline VBWriter2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Premium Security UI takes a long time to load
« on: April 16, 2022, 02:20:54 AM »
When I boot my Windows 8.1 Pro machine (I have 3), the UI doesn't show up in the system tray for at least 2 minutes.
Why is that?  If I attempt to open anything before the icon appears for the UI, it does not load (ie: email, other programs, web)

Please advise

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76078
  • Urlaub/Vacation
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Premium Security UI takes a long time to load
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2022, 01:22:31 PM »
- Which version/build of Avast Premium..?
- OS..? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP/Build..?)
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.7.7366.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 103.0 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline VBWriter2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: Premium Security UI takes a long time to load
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2022, 02:14:58 PM »
Avast Premium Security
version: 22.2.6003
build: 22.2.7013.717
Virus def version: 220416-0
UI version: 1.0.699

* no other AV's before Avast - been a customer for a few years now.

Spybot Search and destroy - All startup references for this program and it's supporting utilities are squelched.
I have to answer "yes" I want to run this everytime I want to use it
I also have eM Client for email, but that only runs when I start it (manually).

Dell Optiplex 790
16 gig ram
1 TB hard drive

Windows 8.1 Pro
clean install


Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76078
  • Urlaub/Vacation
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Premium Security UI takes a long time to load
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2022, 02:46:30 PM »
First, be sure to get rid of all remnants of Spybot Search & Destroy..!!
-> https://support.avast.com/en-ww/article/11/

Then:
1. Download Avast Premium Security: https://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_premium_security_setup_offline.exe
2. Follow instructions: https://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility (Run this tool for all prior installed Avast versions..!!)
3. Reinstall Avast with the downloaded installer from point 1.
4. Reboot.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.7.7366.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 103.0 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline VBWriter2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: Premium Security UI takes a long time to load
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2022, 11:44:32 PM »
All of this was done, multiple times!  "Premium" Security still takes over 2 minutes to load AFTER my icons have appeared on the screen.

I have a program from Microsoft SysInternals called AutoRuns.  I have DISABLED everything absolutely unnecessary to boot EXCEPT AVAST.
Then rebooted.

STILL takes over 2 minutes for AVAST UI to load.  If I remove AVAST, obviously I have NO issue.
This is very annoying!

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76078
  • Urlaub/Vacation
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Premium Security UI takes a long time to load
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2022, 10:07:34 AM »
Update to the latest version (22.4): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=319403.0
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.7.7366.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 103.0 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline VBWriter2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: Premium Security UI takes a long time to load
« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2022, 03:07:52 AM »
I have the new version by now.  Why isn't this fixed? 

How come you guys just "band-aid" what we PAY you to fix?
Isn't this what my license costs are supposed to remedy?

I have WAITED for this issue to be addressed. 
Now I have this code on a much faster pc and it still takes a long time for the UI to load!
 It will not allow me to use anything until the UI icon shows up in the system tray!

FIX THIS!