Author Topic: too much ram  (Read 1253 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline catathedon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
too much ram
« on: October 01, 2022, 11:28:02 PM »
hello all,

sorry if this is not the category or it's a duplicate or the same issue, but i have no time to look for similar issue here, i just searched online and i saw many others have this issue, but dont know if they opened it here: there is an avast service that uses too much ram on my laptop, it cannot be closed and it's on top of the list in task manager, let ,me know what i can do for the service aswbIDSAgent aswbIDSAgent to reduce ram consumption, attached. thank you

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87063
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: too much ram
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2022, 01:38:18 AM »
Some information on your system specification might help:
Your Operating System and version/build number, the CPU version and crucially how much RAM you have installed  ?

The reason I ask this is your image doesn't really indicate a large use of RAM by the Avast processes in the screenshot.  Especially the Avast Software Analyser, at 90MB this isn't excessive and the sum of the other processes couldn't possibly add up to 43%, the total in your screenshot is only 326.4 MB.  Lets say you have minimal RAM of 4GB, the figures shown are a drop in the ocean.

For Instance see my Task Manager screen (ordered by Memory usage, attached image 1) and by far my highest figure is for my browser Firefox, with currently 13 tabs open.  You could also order your list by Name as I have in attached image 2 and see just how much/little Avast is actually using.  Check my signature below my posts and you can see my system specifications.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2022, 02:26:31 AM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline catathedon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: too much ram
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2022, 07:17:38 PM »
Hello DavidR,

My pc specs are ASUS TUF F15 FX506LH, Intel Core i5-10300H, 15.6", Full HD, 144Hz, 8GB, 1TB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 4GB, win 10 home, will send screenshot later, not at home now.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87063
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: too much ram
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2022, 08:44:08 PM »
Your specs are similar to my laptop, whilst your Corei5 is 10th generation, my Core i5 is 7th generation 3.10 GHz max, so two or three years difference.  However the RAM is the same (quantity wise) but yours may well be faster and your CPU may be able to handle it better.  See attached image for more details.

My RAM usage generally hovers around 50 to 60 percent, which is why RAM is there to speed things up rather than having to switch things out to the drive (SSD) which would be slower.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline catathedon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: too much ram
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2022, 04:59:20 AM »
Listen man, dont get offended, but i didnt open this post to compare hw specs; i ve been using avast free version for more than 5 years, i decided to use it cause it was, back then, the less cpu usage free antivirus, but this happened now and i wanna know if it s something that can can be done; you wanna know my specs, i gave them, you wanna know the processes by name, attached, but still, this avast processes is taking up too much as compared to others.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87063
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: too much ram
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2022, 10:55:49 AM »
Well my specs and images were simply for comparison purposes as to what could possibly be using RAM.

You said Avast is using too much RAM well your images just don't show that and 90.3 MB and 92 MB for the highest RAM usage for the Avast process you flag, is a drop in the ocean of your 8GB of RAM.  Just click on the Memory column heading to order it by RAM usage and you will see what id using your RAM.

So as an Avast user, I will stop wasting my time and yours and bow out.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline catathedon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: too much ram
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2022, 11:57:00 PM »
i didnt say the antivirus itself uses too much ram, i said "avast service", meaning a process related to avast, thats why i also attached screenshot with the service related to avast or the process related to avast.

Offline Rundvleeskroket

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: too much ram
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2022, 12:35:01 AM »
Do you actually use this 'software analyzer'? Otherwise just uninstall it. My Avast Free doesn't have this service running, so it has to be optional.

I do however have at least 8 Avast processes running, and of those 4 instances of AvastUI.exe, using 160 MB of RAM between them. Very silly, but that's how Avast works these days.

As PC's come with more and more memory by default, the need to optimize memory footprints becomes less and less of a concern to developers. Sad but true.

Offline catathedon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: too much ram
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2022, 01:09:39 AM »
No man, i dont use it, but i cant stop it either, even as an admin, it says denied when i try to shut it off and others on google said the same, also, to remove and reinstall avast might make it go away. What free version do you have ? I have v 22.9.6034

Offline Rundvleeskroket

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: too much ram
« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2022, 02:24:42 AM »
No man, i dont use it, but i cant stop it either, even as an admin, it says denied when i try to shut it off and others on google said the same, also, to remove and reinstall avast might make it go away. What free version do you have ? I have v 22.9.6034

Avast Free (what I use) by default comes with a lot of extra bloat pre-installed. Alas, such is the way of free software.

You should be able to go to Programs and Features (or equivalent under your version of Windows) --> Avast Setup --> Change. And then uncheck everything but whatever you want to use. For me that's just File Shield, Web Shield, and Mail Shield. Let Avast uninstall the crap, do a proper restart, and check again.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2022, 02:29:21 AM by Rundvleeskroket »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47552
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: too much ram
« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2022, 02:33:20 AM »
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline catathedon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: too much ram
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2022, 02:05:03 PM »
Ok, i ll try both and reply back, thx all.

Offline catathedon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: too much ram
« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2022, 07:56:38 PM »
so, i tried change option first; there was a "ransomware shield" which i removed now, and as you can see, the process is now about 4 times lower than the first attachment,  i'll keep an eye on it though.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47552
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: too much ram
« Reply #13 on: October 08, 2022, 03:33:09 AM »
so, i tried change option first; there was a "ransomware shield" which i removed now, and as you can see, the process is now about 4 times lower than the first attachment,  i'll keep an eye on it though.
I gather you aren't worried about ransomware?
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://