Author Topic: AOL in Quarantine  (Read 1326 times)

Offline magswheel

AOL in Quarantine
« on: March 02, 2023, 01:43:17 AM »
Avast just put my AOL software in quarantine so I downloaded AOL Desktop Gold software again, and it put that in quarantine too when I tried to install it.  What do I do to get my AOL back?  I'm a novice, appreciate any help.  And yes I still use AOL.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AOL in Quarantine
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2023, 02:27:17 AM »
If it is in Quarantine, you can open the Quarantine and right click on the file and select the Send for analysis option.

And or you can use the - Reporting a Possible False Positive File or Website - https://www.avast.com/false-positive-file-form.php.
You should get a response in a day or two.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.3.6108 (build 24.3.8975.762) UI 1.0.801/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline magswheel

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2023, 03:23:41 AM »
I did select the send for analysis option, but it says they don't send replies?  I tried the website you recommended, but it asks for a file and I don't know what to submit.  I tried IDP.alexa.53, which is the threat notice that came up, (and put AOL in quarantine) but didn't like that.  Again says they don't send replies?

If it is a false positive do I just select Restore and add exception?  AOL says there is nothing wrong with their software to install.  Did scan with AVAST and no virus or malware detected.  Could the IDP.alexa.53 file still be a threat somewhere on my computer?

Tried to download and install AOL software again and got another threat notice on file IDP.generic.  The downloaded installation program also put in quarantine. 

Thank you!  SO miss my AOL.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks