Author Topic: JPG:PHPAgent-A [Trj] – Cannot deleted it.  (Read 1091 times)

Offline Orygreds

JPG:PHPAgent-A [Trj] – Cannot deleted it.
« on: October 03, 2023, 11:31:08 AM »
Hello,

I own a Macbook Air (2015), which I use for basic/office stuff.
I have been using Avast (Premium) Suite for the last three years without a problem.

This week, for the first time, I got a pop-up alerting me about a possible malware infection on one of my photo folders. It is located in the iPhotos library (as I could check in the route indicated by the Avast report).

It was first detected last week. It was put in quarantine and deleted. But after 4-5 deep system analysis, it has continued to appear (with a frequency of once a day).

The name of the possible infection is JPG:PHPAgent-A [Trj]. I've tried to access the folder in which the file is but is an empty one (?).

The laptop continues to work properly but I'm intrigued and would appreciate some suggestions.

I'm not an expert on IT so I'd appreciate it if you could get back to me in doable, simpler terms. I also speak Spanish so, if it is easier for you, go ahead and answer back using it. 

Many thanks.

Offline polonus

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • malware fighter
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline Orygreds

Re: JPG:PHPAgent-A [Trj] – Cannot deleted it.
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2023, 10:10:39 AM »
Thanks, Polonus.

The notification keeps appearing. I'll have a look at your resources but I believe I've already read about the WordPress site theory and the Exif Data of Images.

What I don't get is why in the world that has to do with my iCloud library and my personal photos...I mean, I do not find the correlation here (?).

Will try to find a fix but do you have a theory in mind to help me understand the nature of the attack?