Author Topic: win32: trojan (gen) and grokster  (Read 6652 times)

bearclaw37

win32: trojan (gen) and grokster
« on: March 19, 2004, 08:43:48 PM »
 ???
Hello.  I have been using avast for about 4 months now.  I have not had any problems and have found it to be a better program compared to the one i used to use; norton antivirus.  However the last two weeks or so i have been having problems either with my computer, the program grokster or maybe the antivirus????

I had grokster on and all of a sudden, avast pops up saying there is a virus on my computer.  I tried to repair it, but that did not work, so i deleted it.  The next time i tried to open the program, i get a screen saying that a part of grokster has been deleted a will not work, please  redownload it.  So i download again and again etc, and while im redownloading it i get about 2-3 different warnings from avast which says that i have a virus, i try to repair them but it won't work, so i delete them.  still this does not help and i still have the same problem and can not open grokster.  

I have contacted grokster for support but the only advice i got was to tell my antivirus to accept cydoor(for grokster) and shut my adware off.  i have ad-aware installed on my computer but it only runs when i do a scan.  the antivirus cannot be programed (that i know of) to accept certain programs.

I have read a few topics in these postings but have not found a solution that i am aware of.  I have tried to run the antivirus scan in safe mode which said i had a virus in
c:\windows\temp\trz1465.tmp