Author Topic: COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL  (Read 16911 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline źђєкє°¹

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • This is me!!!
    • www.avast.com
COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL
« on: May 21, 2008, 10:03:17 AM »
hi!

 i want to know if comodo or zone alarm is best fit for avast home
WindowsXp Professional Edition sp2
AMD Sempron(tm)Processor 2500+
1.40 GHz, 256 MB of RAM
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X
256 MB of RAM

*Avast! home 4.8.1201* / HijackThis / Internet Explorer 7 / CCleaner / Mozilla Firefox 3.0 / Free Download Manager /

Offline gdiloren

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1178
Re: COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2008, 04:51:22 PM »
Comodo looks OK to me. ZA could be OK all the same, not much difference after all! ;)
Avast protects well!!!

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2251
Re: COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2008, 07:12:42 PM »
My only comment on Comodo is that the latest version (3) has almost nothing in common with previous versions except the name.  3 is definitely not for the beginner.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline W3FSY

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2008, 08:35:11 PM »
Online Armor's Firewall (version 2.1.0.31 Free) does a great job and works nicely with avast! antivirus. I use it and find it much better than ZoneAlarm like I used in the past.

Ron - W3FSY
(Refurb.) Dell Optiplex 740 - 2.30 Ghz Proc. - Win. 7 Pro w/SP 1 - 1 Tb HD - 4 Gb RAM
I.E. 9 - FX 31.0 - Win. 7 F.W. - Avast! (Free) AV v 2014.9.0.2021 - MBAM (on demand)
SWB v5.0 - ATF Cleaner - Belarc Advisior - LibreOffice - HP Deskjet 2512 Printer

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2008, 11:04:19 PM »
ZoneAlarm is a much better choice than Comodo!

Online Armor's Firewall froze up my computer, fortunately I was able to do a system restore.  Some others weren't so lucky.

Some don't have any problem with Online Armor's Firewall.

Play it safe with ZA's fw. ;)

"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41886
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2008, 11:06:09 PM »
A simple forum search will reveal many lengthy posts on this subject
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Jeleal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2008, 02:30:05 AM »
Another vote for Online Armor Free. I use OA Personal and it runs very well with Avast Home. Also the OA Forums like this one, is very helpful and full of knowledge.

Offline JanP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2008, 09:06:50 PM »
ZoneAlarm is a much better choice than Comodo!

Online Armor's Firewall froze up my computer, fortunately I was able to do a system restore.  Some others weren't so lucky.

Some don't have any problem with Online Armor's Firewall.

Play it safe with ZA's fw. ;)



A question: do you have Vista installed on your PC?
With XP, it would be very unusual for OA to freeze or otherwise damage the system.
The version for Vista however is not ready yet and installing OA on it would do exactly what you experienced.

ZA is not recommended by Matousec's team and I would certainly not undervaluate their findings.
See http://www.matousec.com/projects/firewall-challenge/results.php

Offline onlysomeone

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
Re: COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL
« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2008, 07:25:38 PM »
I just downloaded Comodo 3.0 64 bit. I have been using Avast 4.8 for many months with no problems whatsoever. however, I believe that Avast is an Anti-virus program and I downloaded Comodo now that they have a 64 bit version so i would have a good firewall.

Are there any features in either program that i need to turn off to get their to live together in peace and harmony?

I also use Avast 4.8 (always the most actual version:) ) and Comodo 3 on a 64bit system and I haven't got any problems...

I didn't change any settings...

Offline onlysomeone

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
Re: COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2008, 08:11:41 PM »
What does the paid version do that would make it better than the free version?

http://avast.com/eng/avast-compare-home-professional.html

Offline mdshields

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2008, 06:56:00 PM »
I ran Comodo Firewall on my Desktop and Zone Alarm on my laptop, which I use more often than the desktop. Recently I removed Comodo Firewall as it is a hectic piece of software - windows often popping up, requiring input. Zone Alarm is far more relaxed and is acknowledged in the software industry as a firewall of note. It has caught a Trojan on two occasions attempting to connect to the internet from my desktop.

Another option is to load Comodo and see how you like it - but I'm sure you've already considered this option.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82194
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2008, 09:07:12 PM »
Personally if they are talking of ZA Free (not Pro) the software industry should be shot for acknowledging it as a firewall of note.

It used to be a really good firewall and its user friendly interface was why (the lack of frenetic pop-ups). But with the later versions it has become more bloated and is also crippled as far as outbound protection goes (In the Program Control, configuration area, the slider will only goes as far as Medium protection). This in the hope I'm sure of getting you to buy the pro version.

So less pop-ups isn't a sign of a better firewall, check out this firewall test results and it doesn't even feature ZA free and the AZ Pro doesn't do too well in the tests. See http://www.matousec.com/projects/firewall-challenge/results.php.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.541) UI-1.0.415/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline CharleyO

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7087
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
Re: COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL
« Reply #12 on: June 11, 2008, 03:33:53 AM »
***

As much as I like ZA, I have to agree with David's above post. After ZA Labs was bought out, the software became bloated and less effective ... even in the free version. Having said that, I will also state that I still use ZA but it is an older version before it became bloated with crap. A firewall is suppose to do only one thing ... protect your computers ports both inbound and outbound. Anything other than that and it is no longer just a firewall but instead is bloatware.


***
Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41886
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL
« Reply #13 on: June 11, 2008, 05:33:15 AM »
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline drhayden1

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3234
  • Avast & Garfield-Best Protection
Re: COMODO or ZONE ALARM FOR FIREWALL
« Reply #14 on: June 11, 2008, 01:07:50 PM »
Quote
I'm using PC Tools Firewall Plus.
same here on two computers with no problems what-so-ever....
Gateway Laptop-AMD Phenom™ II Quad-Core Processor N830 (2.1GHz)-5000MB Dual-Channel DDR3 1066MHz Memory-ATI Radeon® HD 5650 Graphics with up to 1024MB of dedicated memory-500GB 5400RPM SATA hard drive-Windows® 8 Pro (64bit)-Windows Live Mail-Kaspersky Pure 3.0-WinPatrol Plus....