Author Topic: Mcafee??  (Read 10570 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

zheke01

  • Guest
Mcafee??
« on: May 26, 2008, 06:03:04 PM »
does anyone hir try mcafee??

i'm planning to use it because its has good detection rate and never slows my pc down.

i'll give it another shot when my trial version ends!!

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87450
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Mcafee??
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2008, 06:35:46 PM »
I doubt anyone here is using McAfee and a few that have experience of it and of those I would say it was 'before' they discovered avast.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 23.1.6049 (build 23.1.7883.774) UI 1.0.746/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

CharleyO

  • Guest
Re: Mcafee??
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2008, 11:16:06 PM »
***

In the past, I used McAfee for about 2 years ... never again!


***

rdmaloyjr

  • Guest
Re: Mcafee??
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2008, 03:14:45 AM »
zheke16'

I used to use McAfee as it was provided to me for free by my ISP.  I bought a laptop so I could take it with me, but McAfee wouldn't update away from home on another ISP, so I tried the big three freebies.  It's of no surprise that I settled on avast!.  It always updated everywhere I connected to the internet as did Avira & AVG, but avast! will sometimes do it multiple times, the others only once a day.  ALWIL will get needed detections to us when we need them without limits.

The ISP I'm currently using also offers the complete McAfee Security Suite for free.  http://www.cox.com/ocpv/highspeedinternet/security.asp

I'm staying with avast!, WinPatrol & ZoneAlarm!!! Online Armor.

Do what you feel is best for you.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2009, 11:23:21 PM by rdmaloyjr »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67211
Re: Mcafee??
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2008, 03:26:03 AM »
I doubt anyone here is using McAfee and a few that have experience of it and of those I would say it was 'before' they discovered avast.
Yeah... I've used Viruscan for 2 years... then went to AVG and finally avast.
McAfee is better than Symantec on resources usage (as far I heard from other users).
The best things in life are free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • 63 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Mcafee??
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2008, 12:46:50 AM »
McAwho ???
I thought we spoke avast! here ???   ;D ;D
Besides that, cursing isn't allowed here....... ;D ;D :o ;D
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.12, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1639
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
Re: Mcafee??
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2008, 04:32:10 AM »
My only recent experience with "the Scottish antivirus" was when a 30-day trial of their security suite came pre-installed on a non-PC-astute relative's Dell PC. I took a look at it about a month after they got it and discovered that:

a/. The 30-day trial only starts when you register with McAfee so until then it doesn't update. So they'd been "secured" with 3 month old definitions during that month. (Not really McAwho's fault but may be a common occurrence).

b/. Some other programs just did not work well unless certain settings were adjusted. In the end I had to disable the McAwho firewall and re-instate the Windows one. Only trouble was that with every program update the McaWho firewall was restarted without disabling the Windows firewall!  >:(

Bob3160, you won't be surprised to learn they now have avast! Home 4.8. "Normal service has been resumed"
There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • 63 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Mcafee??
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2008, 03:29:40 AM »
Quote
Bob3160, you won't be surprised to learn they now have avast! Home 4.8. "Normal service has been resumed"

Excellent news. It will not be long and źђєкє°¹ will also be saying "McAwho ???"
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.12, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

zheke01

  • Guest
Re: Mcafee??
« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2008, 07:06:50 AM »
McAfee is a resource hog av !!!

my pc 's performance get to slow when its updating !!!!

i'll just get back my avast !!

Moneykidz1

  • Guest
Re: Mcafee??
« Reply #9 on: July 23, 2009, 11:03:28 PM »
I Myself,Use McAfee.Avast Doesn't Give Me The Protection I Need.McAfee Gives Me Everything I Ask For.McAfee Has Been Used For YEARS Now And Is Used In Companies,School's,Etc.I Wonder Why They Don't Use Avast In Schools,Companies,Etc. ???

spg SCOTT

  • Guest
Re: Mcafee??
« Reply #10 on: July 23, 2009, 11:22:13 PM »
One word: advertising

And the point of resurrecting a year old thread is...


Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • 63 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Mcafee??
« Reply #11 on: July 24, 2009, 04:00:22 AM »
One word: advertising

And the point of resurrecting a year old thread is...



And the point of resurrecting a year old thread is... one way for a fan boy to get a free plug in for his inferior product.  ;D ;D ;D
Sorry couldn't resist. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.12, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Sesame

  • Guest
Re: Mcafee??
« Reply #12 on: July 24, 2009, 09:41:30 AM »
One word: advertising
As alternative longer versions of the explanation, here and here are what Alwil CEO had to say which can be summarized in one word you mentioned, though.  :D  That said, of course, Alwil CEO, too, is advertising their own product.

Mr.Agent

  • Guest
Re: Mcafee??
« Reply #13 on: July 24, 2009, 08:02:22 PM »
Mcafee i will never return with him even if he has giving me 3 years for free. I had to reformat many time because of my cpu was having virus with it and in the past with my old cpu well i did install spybot s&d and just him caught some virus that Mcafee never seen. But after a moment its rehappaned but now with a highly rootkit that crashed my pc and had to reformat again.... I never did got any problem when i buyed a new 1 and get Avast! 4.8 Home. He offered me more protection and better detection for free. Also i caught some false positive but still send to Avast! for a analysis. Its normal to got some false positive of some anti virus. Like Malwarebytes i also see a false positive and they said to put it in ignore. But for sure its was a dump file for dump my files of my customer. And i recently see nobody had any problem with it so i did decide to ignore it. And if there was a virus i would know. Even if some files would be added. Also i do my tune up and clean files manually and never had any problem now. So im happy with my current protection.

Thank you for reading and bye.

Mr.Agent

Conogo

  • Guest
Re: Mcafee??
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2009, 02:48:06 AM »
Ha ha even my 2GB will be very slow once run McAFee  :-\ so a no no for me  ;D