Author Topic: Avast cannot connect to server  (Read 35409 times)

Offline Hawke

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Avast cannot connect to server
« on: July 20, 2008, 08:47:16 PM »
Environment:
Windows Vista Ultimate 64

Avast Build 4.8.1227 (current build)


Avast will no longer connect to server for updates.

"Error: Cannot connect to server"

I just noticed that Internet Explorer will not launch either.

Currently using Firefox to go on net.

« Last Edit: July 20, 2008, 08:54:32 PM by Hawke »

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69200
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast cannot connect to server
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2008, 09:03:52 PM »
Check out the usual list of suspects.

What is your firewall ?
Does it allow avast.setup internet access ?
- If it does delete the entry for it and do a manual update, this will force the firewall to ask permission again. 

Do you use a proxy to connect to the internet ?
When does this happen, e.g. directly after boot, etc. ?
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline Hawke

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast cannot connect to server
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2008, 10:02:34 PM »
In the past I had no problems updating.

I would usually do a manual update, but the automatic update would work as well.

Now I cannot update.

Also IE no longer displays webpages.

Offline Hawke

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast cannot connect to server
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2008, 10:54:53 PM »
FIXED!

I set the proxy to connect directly and not thru Internet Explorer.

Now if I can get IE7 to work now.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69200
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast cannot connect to server
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2008, 11:08:03 PM »
Which is why I asked the above questions, without answers I'm in the dark and unable to help.

OK scratch the update issue if the proxy bit has resolved that.

But the firewall is still likely to be the issue in blocking ashWebSv.exe and IE which you didn't mention in the original post.

So what exactly is wrong with IE ?
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline Hawke

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast cannot connect to server
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2008, 02:51:13 AM »
I got Avast working by having the proxy connect directly to the net instead of through IE7.

IE 7 keeps giving me the error "Cannot display webpages."

Firefox works.

IE7 (64 bit) works.

IE7 (no adds) works.

I went to the Microsoft support pages and none of their solutions worked.

I did a clean install of Vista Ultimate 64 and everything works again.

Currently only IE7 (32bit) lets you instantly watch shows on Netflicks.

Thank you for the help.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69200
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast cannot connect to server
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2008, 11:56:08 AM »
You're welcome.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline Leord

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast cannot connect to server
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2009, 03:33:12 PM »
I am replying here rather than starting a new topic, because the problem is the "same".

I recently got a little malware on my PC somehow, and since it got in, I can't update avast any more. I assume it's related.

The problem persists even after it's (presumably) gone.

Similar problems though:

FireFox works fine, but IE8 doesn't find internet. My IM programs (MSN, ICQ) have no problems connecting.

The difference here is that I have no firewall, and Windows firewall is deactivated, and this still comes up. I have tried to find settings for something regarding this, but has not been in any luck.


Edit:
After some more fiddling I realize some programs have no problems connecting to internet, while others do. IE told me "Windows cannot connect to internet", so it must be related to that somehow. Some programs connect direct to internet, and others connect to Windows' internet? Windows XP btw. SP3. managed to update all thing before this.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2009, 04:00:51 PM by Leord »

Offline chrysafis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast cannot connect to server
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2009, 02:24:11 PM »
I just installed avast home 4.8    after uninstalling norton internet security.    I can't get update to connect.
I tried all three proxy settings, always the same error:   Cannot connect to server
partial log entry:

10.12.2009 10:21:00 general: Started: 10.12.2009, 10:21:00
10.12.2009 10:21:00 general: Running setup_av_pro-558 (1368)
10.12.2009 10:21:00 system: Operating system: WindowsXP ver 5.1, build 2600, sp 3.0 [Service Pack 3]
10.12.2009 10:21:00 system: Memory: 58% load. Phys:439008/1046612K free, Page:1412588/1996732K free, Virt:2064780/2097024K free
10.12.2009 10:21:00 system: Computer WinName: GPCHOME01
10.12.2009 10:21:00 system: Windows Net User: GPCHOME01\gchrysaf
10.12.2009 10:21:00 general: Cmdline: /downloadpkgs /noreboot /updatevps /silent /progress 
10.12.2009 10:21:00 general: DldSrc set to inet
10.12.2009 10:21:00 general: Operation set to INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES
10.12.2009 10:21:00 general: Old version: 558 (1368)
10.12.2009 10:21:00 registry: Deleted registry: Software\Alwil Software\Avast\4.0\UpdateReady
10.12.2009 10:21:00 system: Using temp: C:\DOCUME~1\gchrysaf\LOCALS~1\Temp\_av_proI.tm~a01640 (87292M free)
10.12.2009 10:21:00 general: SGW32P::CheckIfInstalled set m_bAlreadyInstalled to 1
10.12.2009 10:21:00 internet: SYNCER: Agent=Syncer/4.80 (av_pro-1368;p)
10.12.2009 10:21:00 system: Computer DnsName: GPCHome01
10.12.2009 10:21:00 system: Computer Ip Addr: 192.168.1.103
10.12.2009 10:21:00 system: Installed in: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4 (87292M free)
10.12.2009 10:21:00 internet: SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
10.12.2009 10:21:00 internet: SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
10.12.2009 10:21:00 package: Part prg_av_pro-558 is installed
10.12.2009 10:21:00 package: Part vps-9120500 is installed
10.12.2009 10:21:00 package: Part news-53 is installed
10.12.2009 10:21:00 package: Part setup_av_pro-558 is installed
10.12.2009 10:21:00 package: Part jrog-1f6 is installed
10.12.2009 10:21:00 general: Old version: 558 (1368)
10.12.2009 10:21:00 general: GUID: 3c830822-822d-4691-88ea-10e7106ca0e9
10.12.2009 10:21:01 general: Server definition(s) loaded for 'main': 284 (maintenance:0)
10.12.2009 10:21:01 general: SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download600 AVAST Server' from 'main'

Thanks for any help,

Offline chrysafis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast cannot connect to server
« Reply #9 on: December 10, 2009, 02:25:43 PM »
me again.  running windows XP,  firewall is disabled, IE8

Offline chrysafis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast cannot connect to server
« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2009, 08:44:16 PM »
anyone have any ideas? thnx

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69200
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast cannot connect to server
« Reply #11 on: December 14, 2009, 08:50:57 PM »
Make sure all remnants of Norton are gone, it can be a pig to get rid of:
A link worth looking at, which is a program removal tool that can remove the remnants of a number of different Norton Programs:
Removing your Norton program using SymNRT
Or ftp://ftp.symantec.com/public/english_us_canada/removal_tools/Norton_Removal_Tool.exe


Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline Neverim

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast cannot connect to server
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2010, 06:25:07 PM »
In the past I had no problems updating.

I would usually do a manual update, but the automatic update would work as well.

Now I cannot update.

Also IE no longer displays webpages.

I know it's been awhile since this problem was reported, but I just ran into it today as well. My problem was fixed pretty easily, just go to lan connection settings in IE and make sure that the "Use Proxy Server" isn't selected (unless you have it set to do normally, in which case verify the link).

Offline apex809

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast cannot connect to server
« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2010, 01:53:17 PM »
Hi guys new here. Iam having problems as well updating my avast anitvirus. I know it has something to do with the proxy server setting. As i have had it come up in a scan. How do i fix this? Thanks

Offline anamv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast cannot connect to server
« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2010, 10:23:49 PM »
Check out the usual list of suspects.

What is your firewall ?
Does it allow avast.setup internet access ?
- If it does delete the entry for it and do a manual update, this will force the firewall to ask permission again. 

Do you use a proxy to connect to the internet ?
When does this happen, e.g. directly after boot, etc. ?

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now