Author Topic: starting boot scan  (Read 10988 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kattykaty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
starting boot scan
« on: September 14, 2008, 07:47:50 PM »
ok ok i am not a total noob but i cannot figure out how to schedule/start a boot scan in the free edition. plz help. Thank you

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85943
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: starting boot scan
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2008, 08:15:29 PM »
If you have XP, vista32bit or Win2k, you could enable a boot time scan. Right click the avast icon, select Start avast! Antivirus, a memory scan will take place followed by the opening of the Simple User Interface, Menu, 'Schedule boot-time scan...' Or see http://www.digitalred.com/avast-boot-time.php.

Why is it that you feel you need to do this ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline kattykaty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: starting boot scan
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2008, 08:29:22 PM »
system is running at 100% processor when a week ago it wasn't

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85943
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: starting boot scan
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2008, 08:34:29 PM »
I wouldn't say that is a first step I would take, I would suggest checking the Task Manager and see what Process is responsible for the High cpu % and report here.
Whilst it is a worthy second action in case there is any malware running and if there is an unknown process responsible for the cpu %.

What has changed in the last week, any programs added, windows update, etc. ?

What other security software do you have ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline kattykaty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: starting boot scan
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2008, 10:00:37 PM »
well it wasn't actually my first step. my first step was to run the regular av. came up with nothing. nothing much has chged. i think. i know i know. something had to have chged. i am going to the same websites i was going to except now my wow did a minor update. and now i am looking at different federal websites for school that i applied to.

Offline kattykaty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: starting boot scan
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2008, 10:02:25 PM »
task mgr says that system idle and firefox are the two programs using the most. i have comodo fw and avast home. and a dlink router that is not wireless. pass thru is off.

Offline kattykaty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: starting boot scan
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2008, 10:04:05 PM »
Mainboard :   HP HP System Board
Chipset :   Intel i815E/EP
Processor :   Intel Pentium III EB @ 1000 MHz
Physical Memory :   512 MB (2 )
Video Card :   VISIONTEK Xtasy RADEON 9250 PCI
Hard Disk :   WDC (320 GB)
DVD-Rom Drive :   PHILIPS SPD2415P
CD-Rom Drive :   LG CD-RW CED-8080B
Monitor Type :   FWUD32131067U  - 17 inches
Network Card :   3COM Corp, Networking Division 3C905C-TX Fast Etherlink for PC Management NIC
Operating System :   Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional 5.00.2195 Service Pack 4
DirectX :   Version 9.0c

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85943
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: starting boot scan
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2008, 10:41:17 PM »
System Idle Process is the amount of 'free' cpu % remaining and the higher the better.

If your total excluding system idle process were at 100% you would be virtually unable to do anything. So excluding the system idle process what is the actual cpu % being used ?

Your system whilst not a speed freak is more than up to the general tasks, but during some activity (such as scanning files, etc.) you will notice some spikes of high cpu % activity but it should return to normal in a short time.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: starting boot scan
« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2008, 12:48:05 AM »
kattykaty, I use IE8 beta2 with IE7Pro and Google Chrome on a system much like yours without much difficulty and it even runs WinPatrol. Woof Woof.

I hear that FF has become the latest bloatmobile so why don't you try either IE8 or Google Chrome?
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85943
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: starting boot scan
« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2008, 01:37:17 AM »
I wouldn't touch google's chrome with a long stick at present there are too many security issues and a number of privacy ones, not to mention it really is too early in its life cycle, even less than IE8 beta 2.

I wouldn't recommend beta products for the novice user either (kattykaty's first post being relevant) stick with regular released versions of established browsers will save you going grey or pulling your hair out ;D
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security