Author Topic: VRDB not done yet!  (Read 9510 times)

bharritt

VRDB not done yet!
« on: April 15, 2004, 05:08:40 AM »
I have been running Avast for almost 2 months (since 2/14) and the VRDB is NOT done yet. :-[

I ran the "Generate VRDB Now" option for several days straight and have been running it with the screensaver option now for almost 2 months, but Avast is still reporting the VRDB not done yet (the spinning VRDB icon appears in the task bar for a short time after leaving the screensaver.

I am running an AMD 2800+ with 512 MB of RAM and Windows XP Pro.  I have a WD 160 MB ATA133 HD (139GB free) and a WD 32 MB ATA100 (19.3GB free).  I do have SETI@home running in the background, but should have plenty of resources.

Does any one have any ideas for what the problem could be, or where to even start looking?

Fast

Re:VRDB not done yet!
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2004, 07:43:31 PM »
Since the generation of the vrdb is only possible when your system is idle, you have to "kill" all background-processes first.

Bye 8)

Fast

Offline MikeBCda

• Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2004, 09:27:53 PM »
Since the generation of the vrdb is only possible when your system is idle, you have to "kill" all background-processes first.

Possibly there's something really oddball running in background processes -- but for most practical purposes, the VRDB generator is only looking at keyboard or mouse input for activity, and virtually nothing else will interrupt it.  So I definitely wouldn't touch baclground processes as a trial solution unless the Alwil team recommends it.  Problem is most likely somewhere else entirely.

Best,
Mike
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline Vlk

• Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software