Author Topic: Won't update on vista.  (Read 5271 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 0qwerty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Won't update on vista.
« on: October 20, 2008, 11:16:30 AM »
Error stuff loged in the Avast log.
20/10/2008 8:09:27 p.m.   11192   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x2000000A, dwRes is 2000000A. 
20/10/2008 8:10:32 p.m.   11160   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x2000000A, dwRes is 2000000A. 
20/10/2008 8:15:21 p.m.   10896   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x2000000A, dwRes is 2000000A. 
20/10/2008 8:23:38 p.m.   6004   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x2000000A, dwRes is 2000000A. 
20/10/2008 8:25:03 p.m.   4364   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x2000000A, dwRes is 2000000A. 
20/10/2008 8:25:18 p.m.   4492   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x2000000A, dwRes is 2000000A. 
20/10/2008 8:25:33 p.m.   5744   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x2000000A, dwRes is 2000000A. 
20/10/2008 10:01:06 p.m.   4540   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x2000000A, dwRes is 2000000A. 

We are running Vista on a New Toshiba Laptop (1-3 weeks old)
Avast build 4.8.1201 - Same as on My xpmedia centre computer (used same install file.)
Clicking update button on avast makes no thing happen when User account controll off. when on it asks if want to allow. accept and still nothing happens.

Note: I have registered again for the new install.
        Also was appearing to work 2 nights ago before regrestration. Get near end of download then stop due to not being registered?
        Also set up the same network settings as my other comp as both connect the same way. IE works on that comp. and set to same as IE in Avast.

Assistance Please. ???
« Last Edit: October 20, 2008, 11:26:03 AM by 0qwerty »

Offline onlysomeone

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
Re: Won't update on vista.
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2008, 12:40:15 PM »
do you use a firewall?
any other antivirus or security software?
often theres some antivirus preinstalled on new pcs and laptops...

probably your installation of avast! somehow is broken...
you could try to update and repair with the most up-to date version by downloading the installtion file (Avast! 4.8.1229):
http://avast.com/eng/programs.html



Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re: Won't update on vista.
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2008, 11:15:07 PM »
The infamous 2000000A error... I could never troubleshoot this for sure... :P
The best things in life are free.

Offline 0qwerty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Won't update on vista.
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2008, 07:40:19 AM »
Only Running standard Vista software./ Have not installed Norton anti v. unless came pre installed. Our Gateway (access providing computer has NOD32 antivirus on it but it has not interfered with mine which also uses it to connect to the net. Install file version is 4.8.1201.0 so may try disabling windows firewall and other security soft built in.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re: Won't update on vista.
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2008, 02:49:44 PM »
Install file version is 4.8.1201
4.8.1229 was the last one. Try downloading and installing it.

so may try disabling windows firewall and other security soft built in.
Do not disable Windows firewall, it's not the culprit here.
Other software, maybe, which one are you referring to?
The best things in life are free.

Offline 0qwerty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Won't update on vista.
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2008, 06:46:01 AM »
Solved buy using the repair feature on Visa add remove programs, not shure what it did but it appeared to uninstall and reinstall seems to be working fine now.

Thanks

« Last Edit: October 22, 2008, 06:51:45 AM by 0qwerty »

Offline 0qwerty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Won't update on vista.
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2008, 06:49:53 AM »
Note All other security softwares did not seem to cause this. Although there appeared to be something blocking the manual updates.

thanks again