Author Topic: 80+ False Positives being reported on Acer Aspire 3000 help please...thankyou  (Read 8551 times)

vetinari

Hello I'm a newbie here so not sure what I should put so here goes, The other day, Avast free edition found loads of rootkits on my laptop. I scan every 2 days or so and nothing had been found upuntil that date, so I was very surprised to find rootkits on my laptop.

There was a tick in the send to Avast box but I didn't know how to send them?

Avast suggested that I do a scan on bootup which I did and nothing was found.

I've since scanned my laptop with Homestart/ Nod/ F-Secure/ online scanners and nothing was found.

Using Jotti I scanned a selection of the files said to contain rootkit problem and they where clean.

I've sent a HighjackThis log off to malware University asking for their help. (This was before I found this site)

Scanning today has shown the same files again saying they have a Rootkit infection.

I've read some of the postings and know some of the files could be false positives but which ones if any?

Is there any way I can cut and past the list of files shown onto a posting?

The version of Avast I'm using is as follows:

4.8 Dec2008 (4.8.1296)

Thankyou for your help.

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
There is a well known bug with Acer computers.
They're working on it.
Until there, as a workaround, disable rootkit scanning in the Trobleshooting tab of program settings.
The best things in life are free.

Offline polonus

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • malware fighter
Hi vetinari,

This issue has been coming up here several times, apparently a FP from the rootkit heuristical scanner for this bundle of files.