Author Topic: Autorun fails after latest update  (Read 5589 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Eric Binford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Autorun fails after latest update
« on: May 01, 2004, 09:05:02 AM »
Windows XP Home SP1
Avast 4 Home: build 4.1.396,  VPS File 0418-5

Before I installed and updated Avast, Autorun was working perfectly. I inserted a CD ROM and up popped the Autorun option.

But since Avast was updated to the latest version, this doesn't happen. In fact, Windows won't recognise that there is anything in my DV and DVD drives until I go to Explorer and click on the drive letters.

I've checked the registry and all other relevent areas, and Autorun is set to be active.

Can anyone help?

Thanks

Eric

PS I recently ran Avast on PC and it detected 85 viruses that McAfee had missed!

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45151
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Autorun fails after latest update
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2004, 11:36:12 AM »
Quote
PS I recently ran Avast on PC and it detected 85 viruses that McAfee had missed!

I always new there was a reason why I didn't like that program.

I just double checked my DVD  Auto Recognition and it's working fine.

Are you sure there isn't another problem?
Are you by any chance using Roxio EasyCD DVD Creator?
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:Autorun fails after latest update
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2004, 05:22:31 PM »
Are you sure there isn't another problem?
Are you by any chance using Roxio EasyCD DVD Creator?

Or Nero InCD?
The best things in life are free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45151
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Autorun fails after latest update
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2004, 07:31:37 PM »
A friend of mine just purchased and then installed the newest version of
Roxio it's version 7.0 and as soon as he finished installing the program he noticed 2 very strange things.
1 System restore no longer worked  and,
2 The CD DVD notification stopped working.

To call Roxio for support cost $35.00.  The fact that the program is brand new doesn't mean a thing....

Now i call that a rip off.

He uninstalled the program and removed all telltale signs from the registry and after a re-boot, everything was back to normal.
The program was promptly returned to the store. :'(
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Eric Binford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re:Autorun fails after latest update
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2004, 08:31:16 PM »
Thank you for the responses.

No, I do not use Roxio software, so that isn't the problem. Nor do I use InCD, so we can rule that out, too.

I've uninstalled Avast and now Autorun is working perfectly again.

It is safe to say that Avast is almost certainly the issue.

I've installed PC-Cillin 2002 - purely because it came with the motherboard; I'd rather use Avast, though, as it has proven to be the best AV product I've ever used - and Autorun continues to work without problem.

The installation of Windows that I'm using is new - re-installed it yesterday because I thought the previous installation was corrupt. Anyway, everything was working until Avast updated itself to the latest version this morning.

Although I can live without Autorun, I do find it extremely useful as I do a lot of CD/DVD/Digital Camera/USB disc swapping. A few seonds here and there soon adds up!

As for McAfee... the person I recommended Avast to had been paying for updates that failed to detect that he had a virus... well, 85 viruses! Needless to say, I was absolutely amazed that Avast did such a thorough job of disinfecting the PC. Many many thanks to the developers!

Eric

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:Autorun fails after latest update
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2004, 04:11:14 AM »
The installation of Windows that I'm using is new - re-installed it yesterday because I thought the previous installation was corrupt. Anyway, everything was working until Avast updated itself to the latest version this morning.

Take care, sometimes even uninstalling a software won't remove all 'trash' (temporary files, registry keys...).

Although I can live without Autorun, I do find it extremely useful as I do a lot of CD/DVD/Digital Camera/USB disc swapping. A few seonds here and there soon adds up!

Eric, until there you can try 'tweak' your Windows:
TweakUi 98/Me/2k 1.33: http://www.annoyances.org/downloads/ftp/tweakui.zip
TweakUI XP 1.0: http://download.microsoft.com/download/whistler/Install/2/WXP/EN-US/TweakUiPowertoySetup.exe

You can find a tweak option called 'autoplay CD/DVD' or 'autorun'.

Best of all tweakers is X-Setup Pro: http://www.xqdc.us/

Note: the three programs are freeware.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Eric Binford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re:Autorun fails after latest update
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2004, 12:20:28 PM »
Eric, until there you can try 'tweak' your Windows:
TweakUi 98/Me/2k 1.33: http://www.annoyances.org/downloads/ftp/tweakui.zip
TweakUI XP 1.0: http://download.microsoft.com/download/whistler/Install/2/WXP/EN-US/TweakUiPowertoySetup.exe

Thank you. I do already use Tweak Ui Invaluable.

Since posting this, I have done some serious investigation, completely reinstalling Win XP from scratch again, and taking a backup (using Drive Image) after each step.

I am delighted to tell you that Avast isn't the cause of the problem. It turned out to be... Sygate Personal Firewall. >:(

The weird thing is that it works perfected with WinXP Home (OEM), and Win XP Pro (OEM). But the machine I've been tinkering with recently is a work machine and has WinXP Pro CORPORATE installed on it. SPF just will not work together with it and Avast. So I am guessing that there is some kind of weird interaction between this edition of Windows and SPF.

I am so releived that it's not Avast.

Anyway, I gues that when uninstalling Avast earlier, the firewall must have been disabled. So I apologise for suggesting that Avast was the cause  ;D. I take it back and eat my shoes!

Many thanks for all your help.

Eric

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Autorun fails after latest update
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2004, 12:27:36 PM »
Eric, no need to eat your shoes. I'm glad you found the real cause and that it's not avast. :)
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45151
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Autorun fails after latest update
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2004, 02:47:53 PM »
Vlk,
You never had any doubts did you? I know I didn't.
Eric, welcome to the club. ;)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Eric Binford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re:Autorun fails after latest update
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2004, 03:39:19 PM »
The shoes were quite tasty...  ;D

Offline CharleyO

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7085
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
Re:Autorun fails after latest update
« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2004, 10:26:40 PM »

Welcome to the forums, Eric! I too am glad you were able to find the problem ... and that it wasn't avast!    :D  

It's also good to know you have a healthy sense of humor!    ;D


Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM

CoJo

  • Guest
Re:Autorun fails after latest update
« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2004, 02:01:51 AM »
The shoes were quite tasty...  ;D

Eric...was that with salt and pepper or other spices?? my SO wants to know so he can use them the next time I cook ;D

glad you got things fixed!
cojo

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:Autorun fails after latest update
« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2004, 04:05:27 AM »
Eric,

You mentioned that you had Avast Home installed on a computer using WinXP Corporate.

It may be (and I am only theorizing) that the Corporate version expects to be run on a network or LAN system.
The Avast Home version will not work in that environment.
For a "corporate" environment, then Avast Server Edition is the proper software.

I can't tell you exactly why the conflict exists, but if you ran Avast Server Edition on it, I believe the Autorun would be ok.

It is peculiar that Sygate would cause such a problem since Autorun does not attempt to access the internet.
However I have had other "blocking" trouble with Sygate from time to time with "permissions" given, but ignored.

Anyway, Good luck

Techie

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Autorun fails after latest update
« Reply #13 on: May 04, 2004, 09:06:48 AM »
Techie, I think you're not exactly correct on this one. avast! Home should run flawlessly under WinXP Corporate (and so should avast! Professional). No need to use the (expensive) avast! Server Edition, really... :)

Hope this helps,
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.