Author Topic: Do you know where Avast! is developed?  (Read 5588 times)

Bob Anderson

Do you know where Avast! is developed?
« on: March 12, 2009, 03:49:00 PM »
I saw this pop up this morning, which is fine. The opening sentence could be improved. It reads

'avast! antivirus is used by more than 75 million people world-wide, but is based in the beautiful city of Prague, capital of the Czech republic.'

The use of the word 'but' is not correct in this context, and the sentence needs switching around to get the most important idea first:

'Avast! antivirus is based in the beautiful city of Prague, capital of the Czech Republic. Avast! is used by more than 75 million people world- wide.'

I'm not picking on the translator, it's just that I was an editor among other things for thirty years.

No charge  ;D

-Bob   

« Last Edit: March 12, 2009, 03:54:45 PM by Bob Anderson »

Offline Confused Computer User

• Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • The answer is 42
Re: Do you know where Avast! is developed?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2009, 03:53:37 PM »
Avast has a lot of supported languages. I'm curious if this little mistake is present in others as well.
Computer Systems:

Intel Pentium 4 641 / 2GB RAM / Vista Home Basic SP2 / avast! 5.0 Home / SAS Free / MBAM Free / Windows Defender / Windows Firewall / Spyware Blaster/ Secunia PSI / Firefox 3.6 / Opera 10.5

Core2Duo T8300 / 4GB RAM / Vista Home Premium SP2 (32 bit version) / Same Software.

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2009, 03:54:58 PM »
I agree with the error reporting.
The iNews are released only in English, no translation at all.
The best things in life are free.

• Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • The answer is 42
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2009, 04:00:51 PM »
hmh,

That is curios. The website does have support for different languages. I thought they would translate the news in all those languages. Any reason why, apart from time and resources.
Computer Systems: