Author Topic: infected now, avast, mbam, sas, spybot S&D fail to find it  (Read 20801 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: infected now, avast, mbam, sas, spybot S&D fail to find it
« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2009, 02:04:49 PM »
VRDB should backup all important system files, should not it? avast! should keep system able to boot
The problem is not the backup, but the restoration at boot time... why would help having a backup that you can't restore (due to Windows limitations)?

I used repair button, when I clicked on that avast went for repairing and then told me it could not repair and I had not any other else than move to chest and delete...
Not all the files could be repaired, not all the virus damages allow reparation.

you don't want to accept/believe avast! could not clean my system...
antivirus are thought to be protective and not for reparation, it must prevent, not essentially cure.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: infected now, avast, mbam, sas, spybot S&D fail to find it
« Reply #16 on: April 01, 2009, 02:22:50 PM »
@Tech: Thanks for response. are you agree with any of my points?
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85797
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: infected now, avast, mbam, sas, spybot S&D fail to find it
« Reply #17 on: April 01, 2009, 03:11:22 PM »
I really don't  know exactly what files are covered by the VRDB, but it isn't a back-up as in a copy of the file or the size of the VRDB database would be huge as it keeps three generations of the database. It retains only enough information to try and repair the file.

However, as I have said infections that use encryption that changes is trying to combat the ability of any AV to repair it and that doesn't apply just to avast. The VRDB function was when introduced a very useful tool but that use with the development of malware is limited and as far as I'm aware from avast 5 the VRDB won't be continued.

It has nothing to do with not accepting what you did or didn't do, by disabling avast to start with you didn't test the anti-viruses ability to protect you in the first place and once infected by one of the most virulent file infecters that has resulted in many having to format and reinstall and that isn't just avast users all you need to do is check the various anti-malware sites to see that.

You don't seem to want to accept that what you did was plainly stupid, sorry, but I have no other words for it.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.697) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: infected now, avast, mbam, sas, spybot S&D fail to find it
« Reply #18 on: April 01, 2009, 03:35:43 PM »
@Tech: Thanks for response. are you agree with any of my points?
Not, unfortunately, not.
I won't test the security of a system the hard way you've taken. I'd rather use backups and keep my security programs on and updated. There will be always a way to circumvent the protection, there will be always a non-detectable malware... that does not worry me as I won't have contact with such malware. I don't want to work with possibilities (or sense of security). I'd rather have a plan to work effectively on protection and restoration... Talking about this, time to make backups this afternoon ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline mevcit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • shake me make me take me don't break me lolz^^
    • My YouTube Channel
Re: infected now, avast, mbam, sas, spybot S&D fail to find it
« Reply #19 on: April 01, 2009, 04:32:29 PM »
i'm lolling still right now :D

Omid, you made my day after a shitty (sorry ;D) calculus midterm! ;D
i want a player to give me cash, if you dont, you dont get no ass :P

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: infected now, avast, mbam, sas, spybot S&D fail to find it
« Reply #20 on: April 01, 2009, 06:11:26 PM »
@DavidR: yes! many people think about these kind of risk as stupid actions!!

@Tech: I've not enough free space to take back-up, do you have any suggested program to take back up on DVD disc easy and fast to use them as recovery disk? :)

@mevcit: enjoy  :P ;)
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: infected now, avast, mbam, sas, spybot S&D fail to find it
« Reply #21 on: April 01, 2009, 06:42:10 PM »
Quote
do you have any suggested program to take back up on DVD disc easy and fast to use them as recovery disk?
Go to this page http://easeus.com/download.htm and look for: EASEUS Disk Copy

It's supposed to be used with an external hard drive, but that will be faster to use than a DVD.

Actually, if you google search for backup programs, I'm sure you'll find plenty to use.
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: infected now, avast, mbam, sas, spybot S&D fail to find it
« Reply #22 on: April 01, 2009, 06:58:57 PM »
Go to this page http://easeus.com/download.htm and look for: EASEUS Disk Copy

It's supposed to be used with an external hard drive, but that will be faster to use than a DVD.

Actually, if you google search for backup programs, I'm sure you'll find plenty to use.

Thank you :)
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: infected now, avast, mbam, sas, spybot S&D fail to find it
« Reply #23 on: April 01, 2009, 07:03:33 PM »
Oh, this episode of Systm might help you too...

http://revision3.com/systm/harddriveswap/
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: infected now, avast, mbam, sas, spybot S&D fail to find it
« Reply #24 on: April 01, 2009, 08:24:19 PM »
damn! again I'm infected after clean install windows.... I did format.. but... the Vitro is back!
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: infected now, avast, mbam, sas, spybot S&D fail to find it
« Reply #26 on: April 01, 2009, 09:16:56 PM »
damn! again I'm infected after clean install windows.... I did format.. but... the Vitro is back!
Did you use fdisk to recreate the partition and overwrite the MBR (I think Vitro uses it to reinfect, I'm not sure...).
The best things in life are free.

Offline scythe944

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2913
    • My Tech Blog
Re: infected now, avast, mbam, sas, spybot S&D fail to find it
« Reply #27 on: April 01, 2009, 09:20:16 PM »
Or maybe it infected a flash drive or some other external media.  Check those too if you suspect them...
For generic computer (not avast) problems, you can also visit my forum for help: http://www.jacobytech.net/forum

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: infected now, avast, mbam, sas, spybot S&D fail to find it
« Reply #28 on: April 01, 2009, 11:31:52 PM »
Did you use fdisk to recreate the partition and overwrite the MBR (I think Vitro uses it to reinfect, I'm not sure...).
No, just using format option in my windows recovery disc that came with my laptop


Or maybe it infected a flash drive or some other external media.  Check those too if you suspect them...
Yes! same! all my .exe files that I've used durin last infection mode have get infected with this damned virus! it come back again when I run them...
Twitter: https://twitter.com/OmidFarhangEn - OS: Arch Linux

Offline .: L' arc :.

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1780
  • Thinking with Portals
Re: infected now, avast, mbam, sas, spybot S&D fail to find it
« Reply #29 on: April 02, 2009, 03:06:40 AM »
-= :o You seem to put all trust to Avast..  ;D

-= It was trustworthy afterall.. hehe..
Windows 7 (64-bit) Home Premium SP1
avast! 9 RC1