Author Topic: How does Avast bart cd update correctly  (Read 14988 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gothicpartner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
How does Avast bart cd update correctly
« on: June 17, 2009, 12:14:18 AM »
Hi,

 I have read about three different way of updating Avast bart cd 2

1) Downloading the 400.VPS file from Avast website,and then replacing the old 400.vps (Avast bart cd 2.iso) with the latest 400.vps; ie, delete the old 400.vps and add the new one to the iso and finally burn it into a cd.

2) Using avast! BART CD Manager, ie, clicking on "update iso" button and then burning that iso

3) Using the 400.VPS definition file from your avast! 4 Home/Pro stored in the Avast directory, on your hard drive, replacing the old 400.vps (bart cd 2.iso) and then burning it into a cd.

Which of these is the best way to update an Avast bart cd 2?

Could I use the methods above to update Avast bart cd 3 beta?

Thanks in advance!
Regards


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: How does Avast bart cd update correctly
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2009, 02:51:00 AM »
I use the 2nd method for avast BART CD 3 beta. Why would you need another method to do so?
The best things in life are free.

Offline gothicpartner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How does Avast bart cd update correctly
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2009, 05:53:58 PM »
I use the 2nd method for avast BART CD 3 beta. Why would you need another method to do so?


Because I can't get a  license file for Avast Bart cd Manager 2 and 3
But, what do you think of the other methods (1 and 3)?

*** I just tried the method "1 and 2" . I scanned an infected Pc
and it detected and deleted some virus  :D. I am still not sure if what I'm doing is correct, though.  :-\
***

Thanks for answering.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2009, 05:57:30 PM by gothicpartner »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: How does Avast bart cd update correctly
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2009, 01:24:18 AM »
Because I can't get a  license file for Avast Bart cd Manager 2 and 3
The upgrade to version 3 beta won't bring, as far I know, any problem to the license, it will work with a valid version 2 license.
Maybe I'm wrong...
I think the other methods require unnecessary manual changing of the files (copying, overwriting).
If your license of version 2 is expired, avast Bart CD won't be generated and won't work (afaik).
The best things in life are free.