Author Topic: Exiting and restarting avast!  (Read 9504 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Vincent

  • Guest
Exiting and restarting avast!
« on: June 12, 2003, 11:00:20 AM »
I have a simple question: since I'm low on RAM (256Mb), I usually quit any useless program before starting a game. For this reason, I would like to quit avast! and spare about 20mb but I don't how to do.

I don't want to simply pause the providers because then the four avast! processes are still in memory. Second solution I tried: I right-click on the a-ball tray icon and select "Stop on-access protection and exit", the a-ball is then added a little red sign but the processes are still in memory.

So of course, I could kill them all, but I guess there is a cleaner way.

By the way, after stopping providers and exiting avast! as mentionned above, what should I do to restart avast! ? If I go to the a-ball with its little red sign and select "Start avast!", a scan is triggered and I'm given the opportunity to restart resident protection, but I didn't mean to start a scan, just re-enabling resident protection.

If I select "On-access resident protection", a dialog pops up with the three providers in the left area, all disabled. I then select, let's say "Standard shield", click on "Start", and now all providers are started (ok) but I get a error message:
"Error  0x00046101: the operation could not be completed".

I have to say that, when I click "Ok" and ignore this error, everything seems work fine, but isn't it strange ?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Exiting and restarting avast!
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2003, 06:01:31 PM »
You have WinXP, right?

It's simple. Go to Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services, and use this applet to stop/start the avast! service process (ashServ.exe). That's the one that's consuming most of the memory...

Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Rethanon

  • Guest
Re:Exiting and restarting avast!
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2003, 12:46:49 AM »
I also get the message "Error 0x00046101" when I try to restart the on-access protection.  Can anyone explain what this error means?

Thanks

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:Exiting and restarting avast!
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2003, 04:25:29 AM »
When the user calls the option: "Stop On-Acess Protection and Exit" and then try to restart the residents using On-Access Control, the message "Error 0x00046101 / The operation could not be completed" appears.

It just work when the user stops the Services with Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services applet (Avast antivirus and Avast iAVS4 Control Service), choosing Restart (Stop/start again).

The question remains. What is this avast team?  ???
Thanks
The best things in life are free.

bionic

  • Guest
Re:Exiting and restarting avast!
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2003, 04:50:33 PM »
Im using kerio 3b6 and get the same error.
I do not get this error with sygate(fyi peeps :)).



Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:Exiting and restarting avast!
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2003, 07:55:35 PM »
This error does not seem to be related with Firewalls...
I tryed with ZoneAlarm and Sygate Personal Firewall.
Both test gave the same error described above.
The best things in life are free.

bionic

  • Guest
Re:Exiting and restarting avast!
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2003, 02:41:55 PM »
Rechecked and yes this time the error appears with sygate. Also checked with both win2k and xp pro, same thing.

Cmon guys are you going to respond to this soon??
Staying quiet just makes it look like you have no clue.



Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:Exiting and restarting avast!
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2003, 04:51:42 PM »
I think it´s really a bug.
avast could not handlle correctly the services into Windows MMC.
Maybe the cause of the bug is the sequence which the services were started/stopped...
Where is the avast team?  :'(
The best things in life are free.

timjor19

  • Guest
Re:Error 0x00046101
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2003, 04:05:46 AM »
I think I know why it is caused but I dont know why it hasnt been fixed.
It is reporting that the engine cannot be started twice.
This should be a silent/filtered error used only internal to the software and not popped up to the user.

Hey Programmers! I dont mean to be a bother but please fix this !!
The detailed discription of the problem for programmers is this:
Right  click and start 'On Access Protection Control'
Stop/Terminate the Standard Shield.
If you click 'START' to restart the Standard Shield or process, the button click is sensed more than once or the process tries to start a 2nd time while it is already started and Avast 4.0 displays the Error 0x00046101 ,"Operation could not be completed" .
This is because the 'operation' is already done (start the Standard shield).

This bug should be easy to fix or 'hide' so it doesnt worry the end user of the program. Just have the program test to see if the processes are already running and if already running then ignore the input or report that the process is already running.

Help! Humans!
Sincerely,
Tim J.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2003, 04:10:07 AM by timjor19 »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:Error 0x00046101
« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2003, 04:35:56 AM »
I think I know why it is caused but I dont know why it hasnt been fixed.
It is reporting that the engine cannot be started twice.
This should be a silent/filtered error used only internal to the software and not popped up to the user.

Hey Programmers! I dont mean to be a bother but please fix this !!
The detailed discription of the problem for programmers is this:
Right  click and start 'On Access Protection Control'
Stop/Terminate the Standard Shield.
If you click 'START' to restart the Standard Shield or process, the button click is sensed more than once or the process tries to start a 2nd time while it is already started and Avast 4.0 displays the Error 0x00046101 ,"Operation could not be completed" .
This is because the 'operation' is already done (start the Standard shield).

This bug should be easy to fix or 'hide' so it doesnt worry the end user of the program. Just have the program test to see if the processes are already running and if already running then ignore the input or report that the process is already running.

Help! Humans!
Sincerely,
Tim J.


Thanks timjor19  :D
Where is the avast team? Will this error be corrected on next 8th September version?  ;D
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Exiting and restarting avast!
« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2003, 07:41:18 AM »
Yes it's been fixed.

Anyway, you really don't have to worry about thie particular error, as Tim suggested, the fix consisted in simply filtering this particular "status code" from being displayed to the end user.

I had the impression that I've answered this question multiple times on this forum, but a Search for my posts on this topic really does not reveal anything... Strange :-\

Vlk
« Last Edit: August 27, 2003, 07:45:18 AM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

timjor19

  • Guest
Re:Exiting and restarting avast!
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2003, 05:03:47 PM »
When will the fixed version be xfered/updated on the Home user version?
--------------------------
Perhaps when a bug is fixed it should be moved to a list and the old
thread should be moved to an archive or to a 'solved mysteries' forum?
Just my 2cents worth (or was it 1 cents worth?)  :)
--------------------------

Help! Humans!
Tim J.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2003, 05:05:27 PM by timjor19 »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:Exiting and restarting avast!
« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2003, 04:58:53 AM »
I had the impression that I've answered this question multiple times on this forum, but a Search for my posts on this topic really does not reveal anything... Strange :-\
Vlk

Hey Vlk, what about a new FAQ resuming and putting togheter the foruns questions and answers? I know it´s time consuming but the FAQ are very poor and the foruns very hot and rich  ;D
The best things in life are free.