Author Topic: Strange message and svchost infection  (Read 5621 times)

candle

Strange message and svchost infection
« on: August 14, 2009, 05:44:47 AM »
Hello,

I recently installed Avast today to clear out several problems dealing with the Skynet virus.  Spyware Doctor has been alerting me of and blocked a rootkit.tdss several times today and recently was able to remove it. As far as I know they have been successfully removed.

However, now I have in the Avast virus chest:
cru629.dat infected by Win32:Trojan-gen{Other}
svchost.exe infected by Win32:Trojan-gen{Other}
wisdstr.exe infected by Win32:Fraudo [Trj]

I'm new to this and not not very knowledgable about the computer system, but I'm aware that svchost.exe is a very important file that should not be deleted. For the past 3 hours I've been looking up what to do, but no one else seems to have had this problem? I've been looking up several threads that had false positives on the Trojan-gen and similar problems with the svchost.exe, but I still don't know what to do with these files. There doesn't seem to be much on this Fraudo, too.

I've continued several scant scannings with both Avast and Spyware Doctor, and everything looks good.
I minimized all my programs and to my surprise, there is a message.

Where is this message coming from??

I want to see if the message remains after I reboot the computer, but I'm afraid of something stranger happening.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2009, 05:58:48 AM by cree »

Offline mathboyx215

• Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
Re: Strange message and svchost infection
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2009, 06:05:46 AM »
Yes scvhost.exe is a very important file but some virus will try to disguise as scvhost.exe
Also from the background,I can see that you are infected with some kind of fake alert.

Please download malwarebytes http://filehippo.com/download_malwarebytes_anti_malware/
After you have it installed,update it and run a quick scan.