Author Topic: Win32: FASEC Trojan - HELP!  (Read 7755 times)

TX2lefts

Win32: FASEC Trojan - HELP!
« on: September 04, 2009, 09:02:03 PM »
Let me preface this by saying I'm an absolute newbie.
Everything was fine until last night, my brother decided to watch Big Bang Theory episodes online free... needless to say, the site he visited downloaded Win32:FASEC [Trj]. Avast recognized it (and it's many, many alternates) immediately but would/could not move it to the chest or delete it for some reason. Says it's being used by another process or cannot find it/them. Also, my Windows security center has been turned off now and will not let me reactivate it.

I restarted my computer in SafeMode (w/out internet access), as I'm not sure what to do exactly. I am currently on a friend's computer posting this.
Can someone please give me newbie instructions for how to deal with this and/or any other problems.
Also, when I run Avast4.8 system scan it finds absolutely nothing... confused.

Offline FreewheelinFrank

• Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • I'm a GNU
    • Don't Surf in the Nude!
Re: Win32: FASEC Trojan - HELP!
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2009, 09:06:00 PM »
Hi TX2lefts,

Please follow the advice here:

http://www.avast.com/eng/win32-fasec.html
     Bambleweeny 57 sub-meson brain     Don't Surf in the Nude Blog

TX2lefts

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2009, 09:45:57 PM »
Thanks for the quick reply.
My system is up-to-date, but did it again to be sure. When I went to schedule a boot-time scan and the avast warnings keep popping up and now the avast scheduler has frozen and won't restart the computer.
In addition to the avast "access denied"/"being used by another process" warnings, a window popped up saying "Windows Modules Installer stopped working and was closed"... I have no idea.
Ughhh.

TX2lefts

« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2009, 09:49:02 PM »