Author Topic: Virus Chest Problem  (Read 5234 times)

wagz9

Virus Chest Problem
« on: October 13, 2009, 03:59:22 PM »
Running Windows XP, Avast Home version 4.8, file version 091012-0. The message I receive when I try to open my Virus Chest is: "Virus Chest Server is not running - RPC communications failure". Can someone help me correct this? I have been using Avast for 3 years without a problem. I have updated the program and the database regularly. Please excuse me if this is not properly formatted or in the wrong forum as this is my first ever post on a BB.

spg SCOTT

Re: Virus Chest Problem
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2009, 04:11:28 PM »
Hello wagz9, welcome to the forum :)

First, this is the right forum for you issue ;)

Second, The 'RPC' error is usually attributed to previous antivirus remnants on the pc.

Before avast! which was the antivirus software you used?
How did you remove it?

Even though you have been using avast! for 3 years, it can still happen. I know, it happened to me after about a year...

-Scott-

wagz9

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2009, 04:49:25 PM »
Hi Scott, Thanks for the quick reply. This is my 2nd attempt at a reply to you. When I sent the this the first time, it said I was timed out. It has been at least 3+ years since I used Norton. I used the uninstall program to take it off my HD. The Virus Chest worked without problems until last Saturday. I received an "urgent" message about a trojan horse and when I tried to move it into the chest, it wouldn't move. The virus or worm or whatever it was installed a message on my screen saying that someone was trying to get financial data from my PC. It was an attempt to get me to enter my credit card number to purchase anti virus software to stop the threat. I had to use restore to get it off my screen, and I am wondering if the file is still on my PC.

spg SCOTT

« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2009, 04:57:44 PM »
Hi wagz9,