Author Topic: How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?  (Read 9216 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bubbabeernuts

  • Guest
How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?
« on: June 09, 2004, 08:42:07 PM »
I'm not comfortable with the autoupdate feature in Avast antivirus.  

Nothing personal, but I don't like how something has access to my computer that is out of my control.  

Is there any way to turn it off, so I can just scan for updates manually?

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9401
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2004, 08:45:44 PM »
Why do you wan't to do that? Out of control? Most important thing is to keep your AV up to date. You can easily forget to manually update and you are not protected against latest threats anymore!

Otherwise you can change this in Settings (start Simple Interface,click that triangle in top-right corner and select Settings).
Here you have update settings under Update (Basic).
But again,i don't recommend you to do this!
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

bubbabeernuts

  • Guest
Re:How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2004, 07:12:25 AM »
I appreciate your concern in this matter, but since I'm online every day with my PC, I always check for antivirus updates anyway.

shgoh

  • Guest
Re:How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2004, 07:20:32 AM »
I appreciate your concern in this matter, but since I'm online every day with my PC, I always check for antivirus updates anyway.

good....it's really not advisable to have it off..

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9401
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2004, 07:39:07 AM »
But if you are on your PC daily,why do you wan't to turn it off? Thats the whole point of Auto updating :P It does the updating all by itself!
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

softwareguy

  • Guest
Re:How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2004, 07:49:13 AM »
Actually I am with bubbabeernuts...
I am not comfortable with anything that auto-updates itself. (including Windows.)
Some updates might cause problems such as FP's and reverting is a pain. In addition, auto update + status report is just like installing a signaling device into your computer signaling where your computer is.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9401
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2004, 08:00:01 AM »
Yeah,but what if updates come out twice in the same day?
We have seen the day when 3 updates were released in one day!
How would you know about them (you'd probably update only when you'd come to computer in the morning)? Checking avast! web page every hour or so? Isn't than better to leave Auto Update on?
I don't understand why are people so afraid of having auto checking enabled. Its not like FBI will rush you just because you use autoupdate feature in antivirus ::)
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

softwareguy

  • Guest
Re:How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2004, 08:07:08 AM »
Heh... I always look at the VPS History with every update. ;)
Not a problem with me. Since I am on my computer almost all the time.
Would rather be safe than be sorry.  ;D
For low bandwidth connections, big updates might be a problem. Some users don't like programs consuming their bandwidth while they are working on their PC. :)

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9401
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2004, 08:31:55 AM »
Every update check (the one which only checks if there is new update) takes aproximatelly 3-8 KB. This cannot be too much even for 56K modem. Update itself can be lass then 500KB !
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

softwareguy

  • Guest
Re:How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2004, 08:34:37 AM »
Not for the program updates.  ;D
Still for me, auto update for me is not an good idea. At least there should be a option to disable it. (for ashServ?)

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11815
    • AVAST Software
Re:How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?
« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2004, 09:34:57 AM »
Every update check (the one which only checks if there is new update) takes aproximatelly 3-8 KB. This cannot be too much even for 56K modem. Update itself can be lass then 500KB !

That's certainly too much!
The update check has close to nothing... I don't know... a few hundred of bytes I guess.
The real VPS update could have that 3-8kB... sometimes a little more, when the embedded Cleaner is updated or a lot of new detections is added (let's say 50kB). 500kB would be the update size for the program update, not the virus database.

In any case, the automatical updates can be turned off in the program settings.

softwareguy

  • Guest
Re:How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?
« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2004, 09:38:35 AM »
What about for ashServ?

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11815
    • AVAST Software
Re:How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?
« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2004, 09:40:42 AM »
What's wrong with ashServ?

softwareguy

  • Guest
Re:How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?
« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2004, 09:55:57 AM »
My firewall is complaining about it wanting direct access to the Internet while I configured updates via my LAN proxy.  ???

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11815
    • AVAST Software
Re:How to turn off Avast autoupdate feature?
« Reply #14 on: June 10, 2004, 10:02:01 AM »
It's probably just detecting the connection to the Internet... may be useless, of course, but if you have configured the manual updates, it certainly won't update anything.