Author Topic: Download scanning in Newsbin Pro ?  (Read 3558 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RonnyB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Download scanning in Newsbin Pro ?
« on: June 12, 2004, 03:45:07 PM »
I use Newsbin Pro to download files from news groups.  Norton NAV 2003 would catch any viruses, etc. (that it recognized) during the download process. However I get the feeling that Avast (4.1 Home Ed.) is not watching the download process the way that Norton did ... because it never flags any viruses at that time.  If after the downloads are done I right click on the download folder and tell Avast to scan the folder, it then finds the virues.

Is there a way that Avast can be set so that it will actively scan during the downloading of files by Newsbin ?

Thanks !

-RS-

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Download scanning in Newsbin Pro ?
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2004, 03:41:30 AM »
Ronny, I think NAV and avast! need the file to be in the local disk.
Open the Stardard Shild provider settings and check the sensitivity to 'High' (or, at least, 'Custom' and mark to scan files on open/create/modify). Probably you will see a warning of avast at that time.

If you prefer, add avast into your download manager:
c:\program files\alwil software\avast4\ashQuick.exe
without parameters...  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline RonnyB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re:Download scanning in Newsbin Pro ?
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2004, 05:11:54 AM »
Thanks,  I see
c:\program files\alwil software\avast4\ashQuick.exe

there ... but what do I do ? Double clicking on it makes something flash by and disappear ...

Thanks !

-RS-

PS: I do save my downloads on Newsbin Pro to a drive called "G", I think.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Download scanning in Newsbin Pro ?
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2004, 05:25:22 AM »
You must add
c:\program files\alwil software\avast4\ashQuick.exe
into the settings of Newsbin Pro.

I do not use Newsbin Pro... Can you see if it has a setting for 'scanning' files there?
The best things in life are free.

Offline RonnyB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re:Download scanning in Newsbin Pro ?
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2004, 04:39:51 PM »
Looked around Newsbin Pro's options, looked on their online Help page. Could see no reference to scanning for virii.  ???

Have my AVAST On-Access option set to High. Went  into the other interface and set it to scan that folder on that drive.  But ... does this mean that is the only place it will now scan ?  :-\

Thanks,

-RS-