Author Topic: Avast and Word 2000  (Read 5030 times)

Offline tweets104

Avast and Word 2000
« on: December 19, 2009, 03:49:34 AM »
 ???
I am not an expert by any means so have to rely on others-so here goes
I am using vs.4.8 Home Edition and running Visat Home Premium on an Acer Laptop
About 4 weeks ago my Word 2000 stopped working
It has been suggested that my AV or Firewall may be at the core of the problem, so I'm writing both forums
When I open the program all works well
But if I try to open a word doc from Windows Explorer I get an error message that says windows cannot find the file. Just before that message, I get a User Access Control message telling me that winword.exe is from an unidentifed publisher do I want to allow it to access my compuer

Is it possibe:

Avast may be blocking this action?
And if so, how do I set the permissions (not sure if that's the right term) to allow winword.exe to open the document?

Thanks for any help

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast and Word 2000
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2009, 04:08:51 AM »
Have (or did) you another Anti-Virus installed in this system, if so what was it and how did you get rid of it ?

The error message isn't one that is generated by avast and considering this is meant to be from Microsoft, is it possible that this isn't a genuine file. Do a search for winword.exe and see if it isn't in more than one location. When you find its location/s check the file properties and see what it says.

It may even be possible that the file is corrupt.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.4.6112 (build 24.4.9067.762) UI 1.0.803/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline tweets104

« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2009, 02:07:19 AM »
Avast is the only AV active on this laptop.
There is only 1 instance of winword.exe and it is is signed by microsoft