Author Topic: Locks computer when viewing browsers download tabs , forgets settings  (Read 1360 times)

Mele20

I've been using the betas for several months on Vista Ultimate and really liked Avast 5. (I LOVE the GUI in particular). This release version (.377 now) is far more buggy than the beta versions I used.

I merely LOOK AT (not downloading anything) Firefox or Opera download tabs, Avast locks the CPU at 100% usage for at LEAST 3-5 MINUTES!  Evidently, it thinks the LINKS on those tabs are actual files and it scans all of them.  I have no intention of clearing the links as I use those links frequently as the fastest way to open to the file in the Downloaded Programs folder. Fx will clear them automatically after about three months anyway so they don't ever become a massive list. With Opera, I clear them when I get a long list but not until then. I have never had ANY other AV program treat those links as though they are the actual files! I set any AV I use to "scan all files" in real time and no other AV has caused a problem like this on my browser's download tabs.

When I download a file, even a very small one (75KB), Avast locks the CPU at 100% for 3-5 minutes also while it scans all those links and delays the download until it scans the links and this takes 3-5 minutes.  I noticed this behavior with the latest beta builds but it was less dramatic and slowed downloads but wasn't locking the CPU for long periods until the release version.