Author Topic: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7  (Read 46090 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2010, 05:52:10 PM »
Quote
and you mind answering my question somehow...

I thought I did...
"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2010, 05:55:20 PM »
Quote
and you mind answering my question somehow...

I thought I did...

not really no  ;D but nevermind  ::)
w7 - ais7

Offline wonderwrench

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 226
Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
« Reply #17 on: January 31, 2010, 05:56:22 PM »
Unfortunately, antivirus software is not a typical product which would greatly profit from x64 architecture. The harddrive is always the biggest bottleneck for antivirus.

64 bit operating systems emulate 32 bit to allow 32 bit applications to work. Because of this fact there is more overhead using 32 bit applications in a 64 bit operating system. Microsoft did a great job emulating 32 bit in Vista and 7 so the hit is usually very small. The only reason software companies do not make native 64 bit applications is cost.
Main Box*i7 930*GB X58A-UD3R*3x4 gig Patriot DDR3 1600 EL*EVGA GTX 460 1 gig*Intel X25-M G2 80 gig*WD 2TB Green*ASUS DRW-24B3LT*Samsung SH-S223L*LG WH14NS40*Corsair AX750*Rosewill Challenger case*Windows 8 Pro 64 bit*Avast 8 Free 8.0.1482*MBAM Pro*Firefox 19.0.1*NoScript

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2010, 05:59:58 PM »
I was going to post that pk answered Logos's question, but there's no need now.
"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11761
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
« Reply #19 on: January 31, 2010, 06:00:04 PM »
There's no "emulation" here (unless we're talking about Itanium, not x64).
Basically, the CPU is just switched into 32bit mode (when executing the 32bit code). The overhead is so small that it's kinda pointless to talk about it.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
« Reply #20 on: January 31, 2010, 06:08:54 PM »
Unfortunately, antivirus software is not a typical product which would greatly profit from x64 architecture. The harddrive is always the biggest bottleneck for antivirus.

I would also like a pure 64bit version of avast! for my 64bit copy of Windows 7.

MSE has three versions, XP 32, Vista/7 32 & Vista/7 64. 8)

how does pk's post answer my question to you when I asked you what that would change ? pk meant no obvious benefit, and you insisted that you still would like a 100% 64 bit avast  ??? so, why  ;D
w7 - ais7

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
« Reply #21 on: January 31, 2010, 06:15:12 PM »
Quote
how does pk's post answer my question to you when I asked you what that would change ?

The answer is below

Quote
pk meant no obvious benefit,
"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
« Reply #22 on: January 31, 2010, 06:18:08 PM »
Quote
how does pk's post answer my question to you when I asked you what that would change ?

The answer is below

Quote
pk meant no obvious benefit,

so you meant even if there's no benefit with 100% 64 bit you still want it... doesn't bother you that your first comment comes in complete contradiction with pk's statement, and your statement now?
w7 - ais7

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
« Reply #23 on: January 31, 2010, 06:33:38 PM »
No contradiction.

I have a 64bit OS, so I would like everything 64bit on my 7 64bit computer.

Call it vanity or whatever you want to call it. ;D

Eventually everything will be x64 until 128bit comes out. ;D

It has been posted on avast!Webforums that MS is working on 128bit. ;)
"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline sdevil

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
« Reply #24 on: January 31, 2010, 06:35:28 PM »
So guys.... Are we saying that there is no benefit of creating a 64 bit version over 32 bit?
 
I agree with rdmaloyjr. Avast is a major player in AV industry and i personally think it will better for its image to provide an x64 bit version even if it does not provide any signification advantage over 32 bit version.

If the major players are not going to drive the move for 64bit than who would?  :(

« Last Edit: January 31, 2010, 06:39:16 PM by sdevil »

Offline wonderwrench

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 226
Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
« Reply #25 on: January 31, 2010, 06:44:42 PM »
There's no "emulation" here (unless we're talking about Itanium, not x64).
Basically, the CPU is just switched into 32bit mode (when executing the 32bit code). The overhead is so small that it's kinda pointless to talk about it.

I do not know where you get your information from. All 32 bit applications run in Vista/7 64 bit are being run in a x86 emulator.
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa384249%28VS.85%29.aspx
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WoW64
I do agree the overhead is small and it may even be near pointless to talk about it but lets get the facts straight. A correctly coded application coded in 64 bit will perform better than the same application correctly coded in 32 bit. Edit: You are correct in stating the CPU is switched to 32 bit mode as needed. The overhead is indeed small compared to running 32 bit apps on IA-64.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2010, 06:55:07 PM by wonderwrench »
Main Box*i7 930*GB X58A-UD3R*3x4 gig Patriot DDR3 1600 EL*EVGA GTX 460 1 gig*Intel X25-M G2 80 gig*WD 2TB Green*ASUS DRW-24B3LT*Samsung SH-S223L*LG WH14NS40*Corsair AX750*Rosewill Challenger case*Windows 8 Pro 64 bit*Avast 8 Free 8.0.1482*MBAM Pro*Firefox 19.0.1*NoScript

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
« Reply #26 on: January 31, 2010, 06:45:37 PM »
No contradiction.

I have a 64bit OS, so I would like everything 64bit on my 7 64bit computer.

Call it vanity or whatever you want to call it. ;D

Eventually everything will be x64 until 128bit comes out. ;D

It has been posted on avast!Webforums that MS is working on 128bit. ;)

thanks for the fun game, and all the non-sense there, referring to pk's post etc...and best of luck on 256 bit  ;)
w7 - ais7

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
« Reply #27 on: January 31, 2010, 06:47:24 PM »
So guys.... Are we saying that there is no benefit of creating a 64 bit version over 32 bit?
 
I agree with rdmaloyjr




yeah but the problem is that rdmaloyj agrees with both opinions  :D
w7 - ais7

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1864
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
« Reply #28 on: January 31, 2010, 06:50:02 PM »
So guys.... Are we saying that there is no benefit of creating a 64 bit version over 32 bit?
 
I agree with rdmaloyjr. Avast is a major player in AV industry and i personally think it will better for its image to provide an x64 bit version even if it does not provide any signification advantage over 32 bit version.

If the major players are not going to drive the move for 64bit than who would?  :(



There's no "emulation" here (unless we're talking about Itanium, not x64).
Basically, the CPU is just switched into 32bit mode (when executing the 32bit code). The overhead is so small that it's kinda pointless to talk about it.

Quote
pk:Unfortunately, antivirus software is not a typical product which would greatly profit from x64 architecture. The harddrive is always the biggest bottleneck for antivirus.

Little benefit over "mixed" 32/64.

I agree with sdevil:

Quote
Avast is a major player in AV industry and i personally think it will better for its image to provide an x64 bit version even if it does not provide any signification advantage over 32 bit version.
"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11761
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
« Reply #29 on: January 31, 2010, 06:58:00 PM »
There's no "emulation" here (unless we're talking about Itanium, not x64).
Basically, the CPU is just switched into 32bit mode (when executing the 32bit code). The overhead is so small that it's kinda pointless to talk about it.

I do not know where you get your information from. All 32 bit applications run in Vista/7 64 bit are being run in a x86 emulator.

Sure, you can call the WoW64 subsystem an "emulator", if you wish - cause it somehow "emulates" the 32bit Windows environment.
However, there is no instruction emulation there - once the thunking (switch into the 32bit/64bit mode is made - with the corresponding parameter translation, if calling Win32 API), the code runs natively.
It would be rather stupid to emulate the 32bit code if the CPU can run it natively, wouldn't it? ;)