Author Topic: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up  (Read 16821 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JohnSAvast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
« Reply #15 on: June 10, 2010, 03:34:00 AM »
Then you can delay the avast auto update check.....
That may help many including nuflood if the update is slowing down app startups.

It does not help my situation because I'm trying to get video recording running ASAP after reboot with no interference.  Delaying the update probably makes the situation worse - the apps may start quicker but I can't record video until the update is finished.  I could set the start delay to 2 hours I suppose!

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8788
Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
« Reply #16 on: June 10, 2010, 05:11:18 AM »
What is your operating system and Service Pack level ???
What is your CPU speed and type and amount of RAM ???
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline pi3142

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
« Reply #17 on: June 11, 2010, 05:51:33 PM »
Upon monitoring system startup for a couple of days i must indeed concure that my so-called workaround  was, at best, partial. It really does depend whether emupmixdsp.exe can get going prior to the avast behaviour module kicking in..

If it doesn't (and due to the vaguaries of windows startup ordering - i.e. it's randomness) then you get something like this screengrab taken a few mins after startup...


So... EMU loads in 32 core effects and 235 additional presets, which all look something like this:
(copied from the first .corePresets file, named: {4A71183E-1B9B-4E11-B37F-2BAF5CBEE472}.corePresets )

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<corepresets abbrevname="Stereo Dela" name="Stereo Delay  250" piaguid="{4A71183E-1B9B-4E11-B37F-2BAF5CBEE472}">
<corepreset factory="yes" name="Default" wetdrymix="0.50000">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="125.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="125.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="50.00000"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="50.00000"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="Slap Back" wetdrymix="0.272059">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="125.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="125.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="4.017857"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="44.19643"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="Panner" wetdrymix="0.404412">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="210.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="125.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="19.196428"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="72.321426"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="Lead Delay" wetdrymix="0.507353">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="215.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="225.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="59.37500"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="72.321426"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="Delay Ringer" wetdrymix="0.455882">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="244.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="122.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="56.25000"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="52.232143"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="Poly Rhythm" wetdrymix="0.257353">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="250.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="167.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="58.482143"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="80.35714"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="Half Rhythm" wetdrymix="0.235294">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="214.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="107.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="41.964287"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="50.892857"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="250 ms Delay" wetdrymix="0.132353">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="250.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="250.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="12.50000"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="60.267857"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="175 ms Delay" wetdrymix="0.235294">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="175.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="175.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="20.982143"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="52.23000"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="167 ms Delay" wetdrymix="0.235294">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="167.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="167.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="33.035713"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="52.23000"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="125 ms Delay" wetdrymix="0.066176">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="125.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="250.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="12.946428"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="37.50000"/>
</corepreset>
</corepresets>
Please note the Byte Order Mark (UTF-8) before the XML definition itself. Would that be the root of the problem?

« Last Edit: June 11, 2010, 06:17:18 PM by pi3142 »

Offline pompomboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
« Reply #18 on: June 29, 2010, 08:46:44 AM »
Instead of disabling "Avast! shields control", I solved this problem doing the following :
- Open Avast! user interface
Select successively :
- Settings/Troubleshooting
then select "Load Avast! services only after loading other system services"
I hope It will work for you  :)

Offline nuflood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
« Reply #19 on: July 15, 2010, 06:23:48 PM »
none of the above helped me and the support team stopped answering me (i guess they gave up).
I ended up removing this program and installing one from another company which is a shame because i'd been using it for years.
any program that demands me to disable and re enable it every time I start my computer is not worth it and a support team that ignores the problem and says that their program isn't blocking anything instead of looking into it is also not worth it. even after several people reported the same problem...

Offline skyryder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
« Reply #20 on: August 07, 2010, 05:19:55 PM »
I almost accidentally solved - or rather, preempted - this problem from happening by using Mike Lin's Startup control.  The little (and free) utility asked me during install of Avast if I wanted to let Avast run at startup.  I selected "no".  I now fire up Avast by clicking on its desktop shortcut icon. Power at my finger tips :-)
============

I was told my posting is 20 days late by the forum auto watchdog.. which makes me wonder:  if I write something and no one reads it, have I really written anything?  :-)

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82548
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
« Reply #21 on: August 07, 2010, 05:56:57 PM »
I think that it's just stopping the User Account start-up items, avastUI.exe (tray icon and UI) from running. Conform this by checking if the avast services are running, avastSvc.exe.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4257.552) UI-1.0.440/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline Dongle Beard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
« Reply #22 on: October 12, 2011, 03:19:12 PM »
I found the actual problem   
When Patchmix starts up Avast behavior shield scans all the Creative Audio(E-mu Patchmix)
.SYS drivers
Example:
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\COMMONFX.SYS

There are 24 of these drivers that the behavior shield scans one by one every time, thus slowing down the software's ability to start.
I tried adding all of its drivers to the trusted processes list but Avast still scans them anyway.
Avast would need to allow these drivers to be skipped from the behavior shield scanning in order to fix this problem.

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82548
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
« Reply #23 on: October 12, 2011, 04:09:41 PM »
Exactly what did you enter in the trusted processes to allow these as I have found no problem in excluding files that I have added ?

If you temporarily set the Behavior Shield to Ask, when it intervenes, select the Allow and add to the trusted processes option.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4257.552) UI-1.0.440/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline Dongle Beard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
« Reply #24 on: October 12, 2011, 06:51:52 PM »
Exactly what did you enter in the trusted processes to allow these as I have found no problem in excluding files that I have added ?

If you temporarily set the Behavior Shield to Ask, when it intervenes, select the Allow and add to the trusted processes option.

I didn't have a problem entering in items to the trusted process list. It's just that Avast's behavior shield ignores the list for the .sys items and scans them anyway. Avast doesn't block the program like the OP thought, it's just bogs down the loading of each driver until the behavior shield makes its way through them.
I manually entered in all 24 via behavior shield/expert settings/trusted processes. A shown in the screenshot of the behavior shield you can see its still checking the .sys drivers.




I found the actual problem    
When Patchmix starts up Avast behavior shield scans all the Creative Audio(E-mu Patchmix)
.SYS drivers
Example:
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\COMMONFX.SYS

There are 24 of these drivers that the behavior shield scans one by one every time, thus slowing down the software's ability to start.
I tried adding all of its drivers to the trusted processes list but Avast still scans them anyway.
Avast would need to allow these drivers to be skipped from the behavior shield scanning in order to fix this problem.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2011, 07:01:02 PM by Dongle Beard »

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82548
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
« Reply #25 on: October 12, 2011, 07:32:16 PM »
Unfortunately I haven't got any .sys files in my trusted processes list, so I can't conform, but I would have though this would be treated in the same way.

All I can see in the image you posted is a different means of displaying that path, different to your example C:\Windows\System32\drivers\COMMONFX.SYS. So as it is listed in the image I wonder if that would mean you have to enter it in the same format. e.g. %systemroot%\System32\drivers\COMMONFX.SYS or systemroot\System32\drivers\COMMONFX.SYS and see if one or other of those works.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4257.552) UI-1.0.440/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline Lordsbaby2013

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
« Reply #26 on: May 03, 2013, 07:39:05 PM »
I beg to differ.... before I bought AVAST I had NOD32 ESET on my system and as strong as a antivirus that is I NEVER EVER lost my startup items... I even have WinPatrol on here Malware by IOBIT all at same time and still had my startup items in my startup...
But, ever since I put AVAST on here........ hmmmmmmmm cannot get them to show up so DO NOT SAY AVAST don't block them because oh yes it does and I am still fighting to get them to show up. I have tried all ideas from here and everywhere else, and unchecking behavioral etc... nothing works, and AVAST to me is a pain in the rump... can't get startups to show up it's a pain. :-[

avast doesn't block, it scans and alerts to infection, it doesn't block.

If there is an apparent blocking then there is something else in the mix, what that is, is hard to determine.

Have (or did) you another Anti-Virus installed in this system, if so what was it and how did you get rid of it ?
What is your firewall (as strange as this seems) ?

What other security based software do you have installed ?

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82548
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
« Reply #27 on: May 03, 2013, 08:46:29 PM »
Well responding to a post that is over fours years old isn't a good idea as things change in that time.

You should start your own new topic and outline the problem and we will try and help.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4257.552) UI-1.0.440/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/