Author Topic: profiles...  (Read 3780 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
profiles...
« on: June 28, 2004, 09:14:21 PM »
Hi,

In NOD32 you have the feature to have more that one profile.

Could this be added to the Avast in a future version? and put an option to change the profiles with the right click in systray?

Thanks
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:profiles...
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2004, 09:22:57 PM »
Avast has the concept of tasks (something very similar to profiles).
However, it's hidden from the Simple User Interface (the Home Edition)... :-\
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Re:profiles...
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2004, 09:51:30 PM »
I see it now, but how can I have a new 'profile' to update the avast! with another proxy?
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:profiles...
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2004, 11:17:52 PM »
I see it now, but how can I have a new 'profile' to update the avast! with another proxy?

I think you can schedule an update but you can't set a different proxy on each task. At least, I don't see this option in Pro version.

Maybe RejZoR could add this into his avast External Control if there is command line parameters for it  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Re:profiles...
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2004, 03:18:47 AM »
I think that this could be a nice and handy option to add to the avast! Home and Pro editions...
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:profiles...
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2004, 07:24:33 AM »
Setting the proxy settings to "Autodetect (use IE settings)" does not do what you want?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Re:profiles...
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2004, 09:29:57 AM »
Setting the proxy settings to "Autodetect (use IE settings)" does not do what you want?
I don't use the IE... ;)

This feature is useful for me, but now problem if you couldn't make it... ;)
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.