Author Topic: afwserv high CPU load  (Read 12458 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Hermite15

  • Guest
afwserv high CPU load
« on: May 24, 2010, 02:03:04 PM »
the CPU load ( > 50% ) happened while I was running an Opera widget
(Unite Media Player), again not the Unite Media Player service, but a
widget that can be run even when Opera is closed. >>>
http://widgets.opera.com/widget/15592/

dump and config files sent to Lukor

Offline lukor

  • Administrator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1884
    • AVAST Software
Re: afwserv high CPU load
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2010, 06:20:18 PM »
Hi Logos, would you mind configuring special memory heap options for afwserv.exe, as described in this thread?

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=59441.msg505084#msg505084

Hermite15

  • Guest
Re: afwserv high CPU load
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2010, 06:25:35 PM »
Hi Logos, would you mind configuring special memory heap options for afwserv.exe, as described in this thread?

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=59441.msg505084#msg505084

okay I'll give it a shot and report back

Hermite15

  • Guest
Re: afwserv high CPU load
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2010, 06:35:23 PM »
after typing : "pageheap /enable afwserv.exe", I get this:

Quote
Warning: pageheap.exe is running inside WOW64.
This scenario can be used to test x86 binaries (running inside WOW64)
but not native (IA64) binaries.

Offline lukor

  • Administrator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1884
    • AVAST Software
Re: afwserv high CPU load
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2010, 07:24:48 PM »
after typing : "pageheap /enable afwserv.exe", I get this:

Quote
Warning: pageheap.exe is running inside WOW64.
This scenario can be used to test x86 binaries (running inside WOW64)
but not native (IA64) binaries.

Thats ok.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: afwserv high CPU load
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2010, 03:05:57 PM »
Is this related to a specific update?  Anybody see this before May 24th?

I am running Windows Vista x64 with a Core2 Quad CPU and am finding afwServ.exe is taking up 25% of my CPU load.  This is using all of 1 of my cores!

Anybody know if anybody at Avast is working on this?

Jeff

Hermite15

  • Guest
Re: afwserv high CPU load
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2010, 03:10:03 PM »
Is this related to a specific update?  Anybody see this before May 24th?

I am running Windows Vista x64 with a Core2 Quad CPU and am finding afwServ.exe is taking up 25% of my CPU load.  This is using all of 1 of my cores!

Anybody know if anybody at Avast is working on this?

Jeff

yeah I've had this once before, so it's not just the current build. I posted another thread about it several weeks ago.

Offline lukor

  • Administrator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1884
    • AVAST Software
Re: afwserv high CPU load
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2010, 07:09:43 PM »
Hi, it seems to be somewhat hard to reproduce. With the pageheap setting it should reproduce sooner, but still it seems we have no dumps available yet.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: afwserv high CPU load
« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2010, 09:28:04 PM »
Mine does not crash, so no dumps happen automatically.  Is there a way for me to get a dump for you manually?

Jeff

YoKenny

  • Guest
Re: afwserv high CPU load
« Reply #9 on: May 26, 2010, 10:02:28 PM »

Offline lukor

  • Administrator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1884
    • AVAST Software
Re: afwserv high CPU load
« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2010, 04:29:01 PM »
Mine does not crash, so no dumps happen automatically.  Is there a way for me to get a dump for you manually?

Jeff

Hi, the utility I mentioned above (pageheap) might cause the process to crash sooner. In case the high CPU load is caused by infinite processing of some corrupted structure - we might get a crash instead, at the time the structure is going to be corrupted. Generating process dump in other times unfortunately would not help here.


Offline lukor

  • Administrator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1884
    • AVAST Software
Re: afwserv high CPU load
« Reply #11 on: May 27, 2010, 05:28:33 PM »
Hi Logos,
would you mind sending (uploading) us the file "Unite Media Player.exe" from Users/.../AppData/Local/Unite Media Player. It is possible we have problems verifying the signature on that file, so it would be helpfull to have the exact same copy you have on your disk.

Thanks,
Lukas.

Hermite15

  • Guest
Re: afwserv high CPU load
« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2010, 05:36:13 PM »
Hi Logos,
would you mind sending (uploading) us the file "Unite Media Player.exe" from Users/.../AppData/Local/Unite Media Player. It is possible we have problems verifying the signature on that file, so it would be helpfull to have the exact same copy you have on your disk.

Thanks,
Lukas.

okay...sending it to you by mail.

Offline lukor

  • Administrator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1884
    • AVAST Software
Re: afwserv high CPU load
« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2010, 07:49:20 PM »
Thanks, Logos, it indeed seems we have some problems on this file. I was able to reproduce it several times, we'll now try to find the bug. Thanks. L.

Hermite15

  • Guest
Re: afwserv high CPU load
« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2010, 07:50:41 PM »
Thanks, Logos, it indeed seems we have some problems on this file. I was able to reproduce it several times, we'll now try to find the bug. Thanks. L.

you're welcome