Author Topic: What's the procedure for installing AIS?{resolved and thanks]  (Read 3560 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
What's the procedure for installing AIS?{resolved and thanks]
« on: August 06, 2010, 01:59:39 AM »
The price is too tempting plus I want to help the folks in the Czech Republic.

So--I uninstall my software firewall and then install AIS?

Anything else I should do?

No, I won't do that ;)
« Last Edit: August 07, 2010, 08:15:21 AM by jadinolf »
printed on 100% recycled bytes

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: What's the procedure for installing AIS?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2010, 04:04:53 AM »
Yes. Go ahead :)
Which is your old firewall?
Maybe you can run a specialized tool to remove remains of it.
The best things in life are free.

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: What's the procedure for installing AIS?
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2010, 05:55:57 AM »
Firewall is ZA Pro.

I think there is a special uninstaller.

I figured that's what I had to do but it doesn't hurt to ask.

Thanks.
printed on 100% recycled bytes

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3737
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: What's the procedure for installing AIS?
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2010, 06:07:22 AM »
Hi jadinolf :)

Yes, there is a special uninstaller for ZA.

From : http://uninstallers.blogspot.com

[50] ZoneAlarm : http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/free/support/cpes_clean.exe

Greetz, Red.

OS: Win 10 / iOS 15 / Debian 11 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with CyberSec

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: What's the procedure for installing AIS?
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2010, 06:37:57 AM »
Hi jadinolf :)

Yes, there is a special uninstaller for ZA.

From : http://uninstallers.blogspot.com

[50] ZoneAlarm : http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/free/support/cpes_clean.exe

Greetz, Red.


Yep, found it. Thanks Red
printed on 100% recycled bytes

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3737
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: What's the procedure for installing AIS?
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2010, 06:54:58 AM »
Oh, and a tip : After uninstalling ZA reboot twice before you install AIS, because Windows takes two reboots to completely uninstall ( security software ) drivers.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 15 / Debian 11 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with CyberSec

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: What's the procedure for installing AIS?
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2010, 08:10:07 AM »
Oh, and a tip : After uninstalling ZA reboot twice before you install AIS, because Windows takes two reboots to completely uninstall ( security software ) drivers.

Greetz, Red.

Good advice. Thanks
printed on 100% recycled bytes

SafeSurf

  • Guest
[RESOLVED] Re: What's the procedure for installing AIS?
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2010, 08:24:09 AM »
That's why I always recommend the "boot twice" method.  ;)

If your issue is now resolved/fixed, can you please go back to the open post in this topic, click the modify button in that Post and change the title/subject, add [Resolved] to the beginning of the title so this thread can be closed.  Thank you.

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: What's the procedure for installing AIS?
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2010, 10:15:53 PM »
Hold on there, lad.

I'd like to report that I decided to install the trial version of AIS since I had never even seen it. Looks very good. I have only spent  a few minutes with it--set up preferences, installed man's voice for update and then came here to check back. I think my pals on this forum deserve at least that much.

I realize the trial period expires in 30 days but I don't know when the 2 for one offer expires so I'd better decide quickly.

Now I'll close this.
printed on 100% recycled bytes

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: What's the procedure for installing AIS?{resolved and thanks]
« Reply #9 on: August 07, 2010, 12:46:17 AM »
Decided to buy AIS and I have already installed it on two computers. One more to go.

I like it.
printed on 100% recycled bytes

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: What's the procedure for installing AIS?{resolved and thanks]
« Reply #10 on: August 07, 2010, 01:12:22 AM »
I like it.
We too. Feel free to ask for help if you need ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: What's the procedure for installing AIS?{resolved and thanks]
« Reply #11 on: August 07, 2010, 07:36:53 AM »
Now I have 4 paid versions. That's enough for now. ;D
printed on 100% recycled bytes