Poll

What about a build in firewall in Avast!?? Just to make the product even better?

Great idea!! Just what I need!
6 (27.3%)
Perhaps! If it works as well as other/my current firewall...
4 (18.2%)
Don't care!!
0 (0%)
No!! I would like to keep the two products apart!
12 (54.5%)

Total Members Voted: 0

Author Topic: What about a build in firewall in Avast!?  (Read 9089 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MrCK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Just a Viking!!
What about a build in firewall in Avast!?
« on: August 03, 2004, 11:33:38 AM »
Hi everybody.......  :)
[/size][/b]
Speaking of a WISHLIST:

I know, I would you like a build in firewall in my Avast version (the free Home Edition)?? What about you???

                                MrCK
« Last Edit: August 03, 2004, 11:45:15 AM by MrCK »
MrCK

Offline Stephan123

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • I am the virus reporter
Re:What about a build in firewall in Avast!?
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2004, 11:44:38 AM »
maybe.But i think this is not a good idea.I have my personal firewall

Offline MrCK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Just a Viking!!
Re:What about a build in firewall in Avast!?
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2004, 12:05:53 PM »
ok... but I just think less icons and more ram... I use sygate and it's very good, but I think that a "one-in-all" product would be better if Avast! could hold the current level they are at now....

Yesterday I tried Etrust. They've got both antivirus and firewall, but I switched back... Avast! is in a class of its own... With a firewall, they could rule "the software world of security"  ;)

               MrCK
MrCK

Online DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85641
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:What about a build in firewall in Avast!?
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2004, 12:16:41 PM »
Hi MrCK, welcome to the forums.

I think you gave answered your own question.

Quote
Yesterday I tried Etrust. They've got both antivirus and firewall, but I switched back... Avast! is in a class of its own...

It is definately the Jack Of All Trades, Master Of None. With specialist tasks I'd much rather have a piece of specialist software.

Yes you might lose one icon (you can always hide it from view) but you are still doing the same number of tasks, antivirus and firewall protection, so you won't necessarily save any ram or system resources.

I for one don't want to see avast become a piece of bloated software like NAV or Etrust (that you tried and dumped).

HTH David
« Last Edit: August 03, 2004, 12:19:12 PM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.691) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:What about a build in firewall in Avast!?
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2004, 12:16:59 PM »
No, i think its better with them apart, lets not go turning avast! into bloatware now, plus if it fails you have no protection, if there apart you will always have protection.

--lee

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline MrCK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Just a Viking!!
Re:What about a build in firewall in Avast!?
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2004, 04:41:56 PM »
Thanks  :) ... I've never seen it that way: That Avast! could become less of a product if brought together with a firewall... Perhaps that is right... But the idea of Avast! with a build in (and proberly working) firewall is still working in my mind......

MrCK

Offline Delta

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re:What about a build in firewall in Avast!?
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2004, 08:00:58 PM »
No, I would hate to see the Alwil team side-tracked away from virus detection, also there are already many excellent hardware and software firewalls available.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2004, 08:44:44 PM by Delta »

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:What about a build in firewall in Avast!?
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2004, 08:59:51 PM »
Hm i have a idea. What about internet program blocker? Something like very very simplified firewall. Program requests connection to internet,avast! intercepts this and asks you if you wanna allow it or block it. If Allowed it will have full access to internet and if Blocked it will be fully blocked. No per packet/rule based traffic filtering,just program internet access control. I belive this could stop certain worms/trojans. With simple name blocking could also prevent false programs to block them from accessing net (for example iexplorer.exe instead of iexplore.exe). And if iexplorer.exe file requests access to net it will be automatically blocked because its false program that mimics legitimit filename. Normal iexplore.exe will give you option to block or allow. Quiet simple and effective.

I'll add this to wish list :) Maybe this will be interesting to Alwil team :)
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline MrCK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Just a Viking!!
Re:What about a build in firewall in Avast!?
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2004, 09:47:02 PM »
........... good idea.......... try that :)
MrCK

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31303
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:What about a build in firewall in Avast!?
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2004, 09:54:42 PM »
It is a fact that a router with hardware firewall offers better protection than a software firewall. If you look at the prices of so called "home routers" who have a hardware firewall they are about the same as a paid software firewall. Depending on where you life they are about 40 euro ((convert to your curreny) So in my opinion there is absolutly no reason to implement a firewall into Avast or any other application.

And for "implementing it into Avast home", you know what they say. You get what you pay for!
« Last Edit: August 03, 2004, 09:56:08 PM by Artras »

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:What about a build in firewall in Avast!?
« Reply #10 on: August 03, 2004, 10:12:53 PM »
But hardware firewall cannot provide program control :P
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Jeccu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re:What about a build in firewall in Avast!?
« Reply #11 on: August 03, 2004, 11:41:45 PM »
I think RejZors idea is interesting and very good. In my opinion this would be very good feature especially when using a hardware firewall. Then you don't have to install sofware firewall to block unwanted outbound connections.


-- Jeccu --

Intel Celeron 2.4GHz, 768MB DDR RAM, 40GB + 30GB HD
Windows XP Home SP2 + Mozilla Firefox + OE6, NOD32, Ewido Security Suite Plus
Telewell TW-EA500 (ADSL + NAT Router + Firewall)

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:What about a build in firewall in Avast!?
« Reply #12 on: August 04, 2004, 12:00:19 AM »
Indeed. Sometimes you don't need (or don't want) per-packet filtering which consumes alot of memory and CPU power,but you need just a simple program control. Usually you don't want some program to connect to net at all or you totaly allow it. Name recognition of scum files would enhance blocking very much too. Just my "theory"...
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Online DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85641
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:What about a build in firewall in Avast!?
« Reply #13 on: August 04, 2004, 12:28:06 AM »
As far as I am aware this type of program is already available as a small freeware standalone program.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.691) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Jeccu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re:What about a build in firewall in Avast!?
« Reply #14 on: August 04, 2004, 03:40:58 AM »
As far as I am aware this type of program is already available as a small freeware standalone program.

DavidR,
Do you know the name of that program or a link perhaps?
Thanx.

Though, I still think it would be better integrated with avast! if it was "small" enough (something like behavior blocker for instance).  ;)

Intel Celeron 2.4GHz, 768MB DDR RAM, 40GB + 30GB HD
Windows XP Home SP2 + Mozilla Firefox + OE6, NOD32, Ewido Security Suite Plus
Telewell TW-EA500 (ADSL + NAT Router + Firewall)