Author Topic: AIS Incoming Connection blocking doesn't make sense  (Read 2992 times)

sded

AIS Incoming Connection blocking doesn't make sense
« on: October 03, 2010, 12:06:36 AM »
See the attachment.  I am using gmail, and getting block messages by AIS in Public mode and the connection shown as inbound.  But in reality the TCP connection is outbound, made by my mail checking client (PopMan), although the data is inbound-TCP outbound connections are bidirectional. So why is it getting block messages?  How do I report this bug?
« Last Edit: October 03, 2010, 04:36:35 PM by sded »

Offline Rednose

• Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: AIS Incoming Connection blocking doesn't make sense
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2010, 01:51:18 AM »
Hi Ed :)

As you know I am no firewall expert. But at Avast, Lukas ( Lukor ) is ;)

Greetz, Erik ( Red ).
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Threat Protection ( Lite )

sded

« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2010, 01:59:44 AM »
Thanks a lot Red, I sent a PM to Lukor.  I spent a fair amount of time worrying about networks and firewalls in past lives, and this just doesn't agree with the way these things usually work.
BTW, AIS doesn't seem to be interfering with my mail checking, just showing blocks on non-existent connection attempts.
« Last Edit: October 03, 2010, 03:05:48 PM by sded »

MasterTB

« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2010, 01:30:47 PM »
As I can see from your signature you're using Windows 7 and Opera 10.62.
That connection you're seeing is probably the Windows Media Player Network service advertising itself over UNPnP or Opera Unite, in case you have it activated.
I usually disable WMPNetwork service since I don't use it. It's part of what the Windows Home Group activates -whether you use it or not-.
It's a Multicast IP.

Martin.-

Hermite15